We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Weekend away for wedding anniversary””
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Connaught Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Connaught Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
““Weekend away for wedding anniversary””
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We went to the Connaught Inn for our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived Lee and Denis were so welcoming and friendly. All the staff in the Connaught Inn are fantastic. We had a great time. The rooms are lovely and the food was great and plenty of it...Too much :-) We felt more like friends than customers. Car park at the back was so handy. Location is very good. Look forward to going back again very soon

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Owner at The Connaught Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay and we are delighted you enjoyed your anniversary weekend. As a new business it is great to be able to give positive feedback to the team. On behalf of Denis and myself we can honestly say it was a pleasure to meet you both and hope you keep in touch and plan to return soon.

Thanks again
Lee and Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    6
    6
    10
See reviews for
25
23
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Connaught Inn and found it a very enjoyable experience. The rooms were newly renovated with private access from the car park to the rear. The bar food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The bar had a musician playing on Sat night and the ambience is very warm and friendly. It is also centrally located, within walking distance if the main shopping area.
I would recommend this Inn to my friends.
Maura

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Owner at The Connaught Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. As a new business it's very important to us to get feedback and it's nice to know we seem to be heading in the right direction. Can't wait to welcome you back to The Connaught Inn in the future.

Thanks again
Lee and Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Best place I've stayed in a long time..... Very comfortable & excellent food service was out standing thanks very much for my stay.... I recommend this hotel / b&b .. To anyone very good value for money literally get treated like royalty love this place

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Owner at The Connaught Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi

Sorry it's taken a while to respond. We have just registered to enable us to reply.

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and I'm delighted you had a great experience. As a new business all feedback is great and it's encouraging to know we are going in the right direction.

Thanks again
Lee and Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My second visit and what a pleasure. On my first visit I noticed they had rooms so this time I stayed over. My room was warm, clean and very spacious. I had a gourmet burger and raspberry fool for dinner which were exceptional in every way. My visit concluded in the morning with a full Irish breakfast (I felt I wanted to move in to this b&b forever! Well done to all and I will be back soon.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Owner at The Connaught Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi

Sorry it's taken a while to respond. We have just registered to enable us to reply.

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and I'm delighted you had a great experience. As a new business all feedback is great and it's encouraging to know we are going in the right direction.

Thanks again
Lee and Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
0.4 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
151 reviews
8.4 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
1,372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carragh House
Carragh House
#4 of 17 in Castlebar
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenny's Guesthouse
Kenny's Guesthouse
#2 of 17 in Castlebar
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Inn

Property: The Connaught Inn
Address: Spencer Street, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest rooms to the train station and minutes from the hospital, GMIT, Theatre Royal and town centre all rooms are en-suite and the rate includes full Irish Breakfast. It also has a restaurant and bar which offers Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner daily. It focuses on fresh local produce and showing all sports it offers a wide range of drinks, coffees & wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Connaught Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing