We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange Extremes.”
Review of Tulsi Restaurant

Tulsi Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 62 Restaurants in Castlebar
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Tulsi used to be very good, but either standards have dropped dramatically, or you can just be unlucky about which chefs are working on a given night. What used to be well-seasoned, varied, and freshly prepared meals can unfortunately be really second-rate. When the veg is fresh, it's really fresh... but what was served to us the last time we ate here was the sort of "corrugated chopped frozen veg-mix" you'd find on sale in a supermarket freezer, with a bit of sauce to camouflage the lack of taste. To make matters worse, the poppadums USED to be crisp, fresh, gorgeously folded things (with little onion?seeds sprinkled through them) but they have been replaced with what I'd recognise as the shop-bought multi-pack variety. The decline in quality is very disappointing, and we assume it's cost-cutting measures (that are not reflected in the prices charged to the customer) :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mimzy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsi2014, staff member at Tulsi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,
We apologise for the experience you had with us at tulsi . We had it bad whent the recession hit but we have improved since listening to peoples reviews and comments and now our food is fresh including our pompadoms our chef has been the same chef the entire time and he is highly experienced in traditional indian cuisine .We hope that you will come again now as the years have passed by so as we can create a better image of our business in your mind. Thank you for taking the time to review us as every review good or bad helps us to improve as a business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was left standing for 10 minutes before I was attended to and then I placed my order for two people just the main course which didnt even include the rice and it came to €22 for a small piece of chicken and sauce. The service was terrible I was left standing for 10 minutes before my order was taking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Revez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsi2014, staff member at Tulsi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,
Firstly we apologise for the delayed response to your review and we apologise for the experience you had in our restaurant however since you last visited we have hired a new member of staff and created special offers to suit all occasions.Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant as it helps us to improve and we hope to see you again to give you a much better experience if you choose to return .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a lovely meal in tulsi before a gaa match. Everything was lovely and the staff could not have been nicer to us and the kids. Great experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie123744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsi2014, staff member at Tulsi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your amazing review about our restaurant! We are glad you had a good experience with us and would love to see you again! we have introduced new offers to our facebook page that we hope you will avail of ! my apologies for not replying sooner to your review:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Really good food here and attentive service. Had a lovely birthday dinner here and got doggy bags when we were leaving, as they are generous with their portions and the dishes are filling.

Thank Marya072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsi2014, staff member at Tulsi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedual to leave our restaurant a review! We hope you come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food in the Tulsi is beautiful, it is very fresh and service is quick. The staff are very friendly but not over-bearing. Enjoyed a beautiful meal at very good value with the special offer of 4 courses for 2 people for €30. The portions are generous and taste great. Would definitely recommend the Tulsi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank minser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsi2014, staff member at Tulsi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant we are sorry we didnt reply sooner! we are delighted you had a good experience with us as we strive to improve and compete as a business. We hope to see you again for more offeres we have a facebook page :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulsi Restaurant also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Tulsi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing