We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lough Lannagh Holiday Village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Lannagh Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Lough Lannagh Holiday Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've stayed at Lough Lannagh on two occasions. The first time was at the end of May when my son and I used the campsite for 3 nights, the second was following a canoe trip on Lough Corrib with a group of 12 paddlers.

The camping areas are slightly elevated and pretty flat making good pitches. Your right beside the gym of which you have full access to....not on this trip. Water, toilet and showering facilities are close by and very clean, you do have to share them with the caravan/mobile home users.
We had great weather and enjoyed 3 lovely evenings sitting outside our tent.

I spent another night there in August with a group of paddlers. We had booked the large conference hall rather than campsite but instead were given 3 rooms in the main building at the same rate.
The staff were all very helpful and the accommodation was excellent for what we paid. The price also included a very good breakfast, just what was needed after a night out in Castlebar.

The general area has a lot to offer, Castlebar is great for shops, pubs, restaurants and has good cinema as well. Lough Lannagh village sits right on the Lough and is really pretty with a nice path to follow around the lough. If your trip includes a stop in the Castlebar area then you'll not go far wrong staying at the Lough Lannagh Holiday Village.

Pete

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_garetine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    45
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
51
24
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Booked last weekend one of the holiday cottages and liked it so much decided to stay another night. They are very well equipped (all mod cons), very clean and it was a joy to stay in. The owner (Paul) was extremely helpful as where all his staff. We stayed in one of the cottages with my daughter and son-in-law and baby granddaughter. There is a new walk aroung Lough Lannagh, which is excellent for taking a stroll with the buggy. We will certainly stay here again if visiting that area.

Room Tip: There is no pool although there is a keepfit suite which I didn't use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Fantastic value for money. Beautiful lake walk to the side of the lodge. A lot of young staff and they were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. The guest kitchen was so handy for a cuppa anytime. Only 5 mins from Castlebar town €6 for a taxi.

Room Tip: Most rooms have double and single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Averdyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

If your idea of a great place to stay is hostel-type accommodation where general upkeep is not top of the list of priorities and cleanliness is questionable at best, this is the place for you.
We arrived at Lough Lannagh Lodge expecting a good standard of 3 Star accommodation and were sadly disappointed. After a five hour journey with two elderly parents, we made the decision to stay the night even though I could hardly believe what we were greeted with in the reception area. Some flash or domestos wouldn't've gone amiss. It got worse from there. The rooms needed a total upgrade - painted and a deep clean. The carpet was worn, the chair in the corner of the room was dirty and the curtains would benefit from a deep clean - or changed - the style is from the 1990s. As for the bathrooms, they need ripped out.

Maybe it was 3 star when it was built but it certainly isn't now.

On a positive note, the staff were friendly and the exterior and setting is lovely. I will say that the bed linen was freshly laundered (if worn). The Lodge is inappropriately sold at the moment though via the website as it is not as portrayed. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N .ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The first thing that will strike you when you arrive at Lough Lannagh is how clean the village is. Accommodation was great clean and excellent value. The village is well located to the centre of the town and the breakfast was wonderful. Housekeeping is top notch. I have been to a couple of holiday villages before and this one is without doubt the best I have been to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timhedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just back from a weekend away with ten girls; we were staying as part of a package which included a murder mystery, chinese and Karaoke. The staff (we met Paul, Dara and Olivia) couldnt have done more for us, from letting us check in early (two of us arrived from the UK, to fixing the karoake machine when we didnt realise we had put the scart cable in wrong!), and to collecting our payments in the house and bringing our costumes to us. Olivia was especially helpful in the weeks coming up to the event, with various emails about local information we'd need about logistics; where to go and what to do. The houses are a little old, but spotless and has a beautful lough just seconds away. HIghly recommend staying here, thanks such much @the staff.

Room Tip: We had both a bungalow and a two storey house to use, for our group of ten' the cottages were hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyApplePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I had to check out just 6 hours around midnight just 6 hours after arriving on day 1 of a scheduled 3 night stay due to a family emergency and they waived all charges without even having to ask. Can't speak highly enough of them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
0.3 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.9 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
7.6 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
1.9 mi away
Westbrook Country House
Westbrook Country House
#2 of 17 in Castlebar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Lannagh Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Lannagh Holiday Village

Property: Lough Lannagh Holiday Village
Address: Old Westport Rd, Castlebar, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lough Lannagh Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village is a weather independent place to stay for visitors to Mayo and the surrounding area. We offer B&B, self-catering, caravan & camping and group accommodation for visitors as well as meeting rooms for conferences & workshops and cafe facilites for a quick bite to eat. Mayo's newest tourist route (opening Fall 2015) (The Greenway Walking and Cycling Route) passes through the grounds of Lough Lannagh Holiday Village. Individuals and groups welcome, special diets catered for, wheelchair and family friendly. Self Catering Castlebar & B&B Mayo Tourist Accommodation Whether you're looking to go on a family holiday, somewhere to stay for the night or you need to book your group in for a meeting or break, talk to us at Lough Lannagh Holiday Village Castlebar - we're sure we can help you. So what do you need? We have facilities for Bed and Breakfast, self catering holidays, conferences, meetings and groups of all sizes. See Tripadvisor for reviews. Whether staying for one night or a bit longer,, can offer excellent value, with terrific individual and group accommodation in a great location in Mayo, with so much going on Lough Lannagh Lodge AA 3 Star guest accommodation (24 ensuite bedrooms) Lough Lannagh ITB 4 star Self catering houses (11 cottages with in total 36 ensuite rooms. Lough Lannagh Caravan Park, ITB 3 star, 20 hardstanding bays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lough Lannagh Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village Hotel Castlebar
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village Castlebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing