We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Star At Best - dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

If your idea of a great place to stay is hostel-type accommodation where general upkeep is not top of the list of priorities and cleanliness is questionable at best, this is the place for you.
We arrived at Lough Lannagh Lodge expecting a good standard of 3 Star accommodation and were sadly disappointed. After a five hour journey with two elderly parents, we made the decision to stay the night even though I could hardly believe what we were greeted with in the reception area. Some flash or domestos wouldn't've gone amiss. It got worse from there. The rooms needed a total upgrade - painted and a deep clean. The carpet was worn, the chair in the corner of the room was dirty and the curtains would benefit from a deep clean - or changed - the style is from the 1990s. As for the bathrooms, they need ripped out.

Maybe it was 3 star when it was built but it certainly isn't now.

On a positive note, the staff were friendly and the exterior and setting is lovely. I will say that the bed linen was freshly laundered (if worn). The Lodge is inappropriately sold at the moment though via the website as it is not as portrayed. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 177 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

The first thing that will strike you when you arrive at Lough Lannagh is how clean the village is. Accommodation was great clean and excellent value. The village is well located to the centre of the town and the breakfast was wonderful. Housekeeping is top notch. I have been to a couple of holiday villages before and this one is without doubt the best I have been to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timhedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just back from a weekend away with ten girls; we were staying as part of a package which included a murder mystery, chinese and Karaoke. The staff (we met Paul, Dara and Olivia) couldnt have done more for us, from letting us check in early (two of us arrived from the UK, to fixing the karoake machine when we didnt realise we had put the scart cable in wrong!), and to collecting our payments in the house and bringing our costumes to us. Olivia was especially helpful in the weeks coming up to the event, with various emails about local information we'd need about logistics; where to go and what to do. The houses are a little old, but spotless and has a beautful lough just seconds away. HIghly recommend staying here, thanks such much @the staff.

Room Tip: We had both a bungalow and a two storey house to use, for our group of ten' the cottages were hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyApplePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I had to check out just 6 hours around midnight just 6 hours after arriving on day 1 of a scheduled 3 night stay due to a family emergency and they waived all charges without even having to ask. Can't speak highly enough of them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent a week at the village with various members of our family. We had 4 cottages and it was a fantastic set up. The cottages were mostly detatched, so the only noise was our own and were spacious. The location was great too, easy walk to Castlebar, which has everything you might need and lovely walks around the lochs. Staff very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We arrived very late but our still welcomed fondly and all our cycling requests eg routes , food , etc were never to much trouble Paul and Ger and staff can be very proud of their hospitality

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerrytcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The cost for a double room is €58. When one considers that this is listed as three star, it seems like excellent value for BED AND BREAKFAST FOR 2 PEOPLE. Unfortunitely three three stars are not deserved. It is more like a cross between a motel and a holiday camp! The reception is well worn and bordering on shabby. The breakfast area is similar to a hostel type environment, altough in fairness the breakfast is reasonable and plentiful. The room we were given was clean but the furnishings were basic, with the television the smallest I've ever seen and located high on the wall and could only be seen when standing up. The bathroom had fittings which were damaged and the sink released the water slowly which gave the impression that it needed to be cleaned out. Staff were polite but the venue falls well short of a relaxing location, with neither a bar nor restaurant there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alldublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
0.4 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
913 reviews
3 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#3 of 9 in Castlebar
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
#5 of 9 in Castlebar
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,469 reviews
10.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,012 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Connaught Inn
The Connaught Inn
#8 of 17 in Castlebar
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Lannagh Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Lannagh Holiday Village

Address: Old Westport Rd, Castlebar, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Castlebar
Price Range: $118 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lough Lannagh Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village is a weather independent place to stay for visitors to Mayo and the surrounding area. We offer B&B, self-catering, caravan & camping and group accommodation for visitors as well as meeting rooms for conferences & workshops and cafe facilites for a quick bite to eat. Mayo's newest tourist route (opening Fall 2015) (The Greenway Walking and Cycling Route) passes through the grounds of Lough Lannagh Holiday Village. Individuals and groups welcome, special diets catered for, wheelchair and family friendly. Self Catering Castlebar & B&B Mayo Tourist Accommodation Whether you're looking to go on a family holiday, somewhere to stay for the night or you need to book your group in for a meeting or break, talk to us at Lough Lannagh Holiday Village Castlebar - we're sure we can help you. So what do you need? We have facilities for Bed and Breakfast, self catering holidays, conferences, meetings and groups of all sizes. See Tripadvisor for reviews. Whether staying for one night or a bit longer,, can offer excellent value, with terrific individual and group accommodation in a great location in Mayo, with so much going on Lough Lannagh Lodge AA 3 Star guest accommodation (24 ensuite bedrooms) Lough Lannagh ITB 4 star Self catering houses (11 cottages with in total 36 ensuite rooms. Lough Lannagh Caravan Park, ITB 3 star, 20 hardstanding bays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lough Lannagh Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village Hotel Castlebar
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village Castlebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing