We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant interlude” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Leaf Restaurant

The Bay Leaf Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 55 Restaurants in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mullingar
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A pleasant interlude”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spacious bright and a good menu though the portions are on the small side. I has the Goats Cheese & filo pastry with two salads. The salads were plentiful but the triangles of cheese & pastry were tiny. It was served with a portion of good chunky home made chips. Regrettably the chips were doused in salt & vinegar before they were served and was not to my taste. The service was slow though the restaurant was very busy on the day we visited. If you like a quiet environment this is not the place for you. There were lots of young families with the associated noise. However I would return if I was in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaL495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O, Public Relations Manager at The Bay Leaf Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello Veronica L,

Many thanks for your recent 4* rating for The Bay Leaf Restaurant. We have noted your comments about our menu and quality of service.

Having traded for 3 years at our current location we are proud of our “home-cooked” ethos and regret that the service during your visit may have taken from your overall dining experience.

Situated as we are in a family oriented lifestyle centre and less than 5 minutes from the Turlough Park House – National Museum of Ireland, your visit coincided with as you mentioned “lots of young families”…..which we now find is the norm at weekends and out of school hours.

We are pleased that you described our establishment as “pleasant” and delighted that you would return should you be in the locality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    27
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Group Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

great menu food fantastic great space to accomadate buggies and children nothing too much trouble!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cary-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We went for Sunday lunch & I was very disappointed. The beef was the fattiest beef I have ever been served & the broccoli was hard! Although the portion was massive I think it was just to cover up that I didn't get one slice of proper beef.

I got a half portion dinner for my 3.5 yr old & was charged €8.95 which I thought was ridculous.

Dessert of pavola was very nice but overall we were very disappointed.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caoimdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O, Public Relations Manager at The Bay Leaf Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Hello Caoimdee,

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor. We were also disappointed to see you didn’t have an enjoyable dining experience with us on your recent visit. The matters that you raised have been addressed and we would be delighted to say “hello” to you, should you wish to stop by and eat with us again. We are certain that your next experience will be “pavlovaesque.”

Paul O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Leaf Restaurant also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to The Bay Leaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing