We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem In The West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenny's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenny's Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 17 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kilcar, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A Little Gem In The West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just back from a one night stay in Kenny's guesthouse in Castlebar. Sourced this very reasonably priced property online through Bookings.com. I was visiting the town with a friend for a Billy Connolly show at the Royal Theatre..This B&B is ideally located less than a 10 minute walk away from the venue. I have to say we both really enjoyed our short stay and would highly recommend Kenny's to anyone wishing to visit this part of Mayo. Arrived late afternoon to be greeted warmly by Susanna, the Lady of the house. Parked up and checked in with the minimum of fuss. The landlady was more than helpful with directions and advice on where to eat etc.... Both of our rooms were spotlessly clean with very well appointed bathrooms. Both had tea & coffee making facilities and also a flat screen TV. WiFi was also available throughout the house, I chose to use the residents lounge to browse my Emails. After a hilarious show at the Royal we made our way back and retired to a good nights sleep at this guesthouse. Breakfast next morning was home made and cooked to order by Raymond and Susanna who chatted away with us and with the other guests. The coffee was freshly ground and set me up nicely for the journey home. Loved the hospitality and personal touch offered by our hosts at this B&B, a real gem of a place to which I will be returning to on my next visit to Castlebar.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are that little bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTINMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
23
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have stayed in Kenny's Guesthouse and find it a wonderful location close to all shops and amenities. The house is one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed. Mr. and Mrs. Kenny are lovely hosts and made me very welcomed, My bedroom was warm and beautiful and my breakfast was excellent with porridge and home made soda bread and free-range eggs. I visit Castlebar quiet often and I will always return to stay in Kenny 's Guesthouse as they are friendly, helpful and make me feel like a family member. They assure one of a restful, enjoyable stay..

Room Tip: It is so convenient to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phylomena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

It was our 3rd choice for the night, after another B&B owner called over for us. The lady who met us was very nice. She gave a nice room, and pointed us toward food. My only complaints are that I was worried about our car all night. A sign in their car park said to park at your own risk. Next,we wanted to eat breakfast at 8 or 8:30, but found no one in the locked dining room till 9 or 9:10. Other than that, they were nice people, with good rooms

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingeroatmeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have enjoyed my only one night in this wonderful and cleanest place in Castlebar ever, I wish I was staying in there for a year. Wonderful place to stay, clean, beautiful in the middle of the city but the gorgeous thing is its people, very friendly, so warm, helpful and there to make your stay pretty beautiful...you will look to go back for the super and lovely breakfast in the morning...yeah missing everything already...I can't really wait to go back...xxxx

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here the night before we toured The National Museum of Ireland – Country Life just outside of town. It is a large guest house in the heart of the shopping district and close to restaurants and stores. The family that runs it is very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptionally clean and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
1.1 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
9.9 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Connaught Inn
The Connaught Inn
#7 of 17 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carragh House
Carragh House
#4 of 17 in Castlebar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.8 mi away
Westbrook Country House
Westbrook Country House
#2 of 17 in Castlebar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenny's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenny's Guesthouse

Property: Kenny's Guesthouse
Address: Kenny's Guest House Lucan Street, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenny's Guesthouse is Castlebar's only 3 star Guesthouse, approved by Failte Ireland. This comfortable, family-run guest house is set in the heart of Castlebar with various bars, restaurants and shops moments away. It offers a free Wi-Fi zone, free private parking.Each cosy room at Kenny's Guesthouse has a private bathroom, plasma TV, tea and coffee facilities, telephone, hairdryer and free toiletries. Laundry and ironing facilities are available upon request. Breakfast served until 10am from 8am - earlier on request(more often 7.30Am) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kenny's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing