We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food/Service/Staff!”
Review of Bar One

Bar One
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Best Gastro Pub Mayo 2011, 2012 and 2013 & Best Gastro Pub Connaught 2012 at the RAI awards.Awarded Best Chef Connaught by Good Eating Guide 2013.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food/Service/Staff!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent all round - hadn't a table booked but they fit us in at peak time on a Saturday night! Highly reccomended

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodistie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    103
    35
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“second time around”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

brought my family here as i had been myself before and thought it was great so wanted them to enjoy,have to be honest was not as good as the first time i was there my 2 little grand nieces had soup with potato the potatoes had something other then pepper in them neither myself or the kids liked them the desserts were still to die for although smaller portions then last time, the way you have to go to get to the toilets needs to be sorted out and cleaned up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irelandtammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern pub with good menu”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Girl behind Bar was very friendly and chatty (expecting baby in Sep) Everybody seemed to be enjoying food. We had eaten earlier but were sorry we had not chosen here

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were in Castlebar and met friends for an evening meal in Bar One and we were pleasantly surprised the food was very good I had the fish and chips and it was a great feed. others had stake and they were very satisfied with the meal. Overall we found no faults and we all left happy and full, better than expected. The staff are very friendly and attentive. Full marks all round.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to Bar One on the recommendation of our hosts at Kenny's Guest House. It is a contemporary bar/restaurant with great food and very comfortable. We'd go back, for sure!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar One also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Bar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing