We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Cafe Rua

Cafe Rua
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Was meeting colleagues for lunch recently and was delighted when Cafe Rua was suggested as venue, as I'd been in the deli branch previously and it was superb. Service, food, atmosphere in Cafe Rua were all top notch. So much so I visited again when passing through Castlebar the following day!!!
Highly recommend the goats cheese salad, I opted for brown bread with it rather than the listed garlic bread. Also sampled a lamb meatball panini on my return visit. Wasn't so keen on this - the meatballs were delicious, but I would have preferred them with a larger salad and the accompanying cous-cous - the panini bread was surplus to requirements.
Coffee was perfect.
Can't wait til I'm next in Castlebar!!

1  Thank Angeld62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeRua, Owner at Cafe Rua, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Angeld62 - so glad you enjoyed your visits to Cafe Rua - both food and coffee. Hope to see you back next time you're in Castlebar! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 256 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I have occasionally to visit West Mayo and we try and time our return journeys so that we can visit Café Rua for lunch on our way home. We visited on Saturday, April 19th and as usual the standard of food and service was exceptional. There was a queue but we didn’t mind waiting. In any event the wait was quite short and our order was taken while we queued. We were initially seated at a big table in the centre of the room having said that we didn’t mind sharing. However a table for two became available shortly after sitting down and we were offered it without having to ask. Our food was served almost immediately.
We really enjoyed our meal - Café Rua deserves great praise in our opinion for restoring the humble boiled potato to its rightful place on the Irish lunch menu. The café’s own rhubarb tart was excellent as was a glass of their wine of the week, an Argentinian Malbec.
Our visit was an extremely pleasant experience – extremely good food served by exceptional staff in pleasant surroundings. If we were restaurant critics we would award Café Rua 9.9 out of 10 – while it might seem mean minded of us not to give it a perfect 10 we feel we could only do that when they add that other delicious summertime treat, fresh mackerel, to the menu!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DedalusIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeRua, Owner at Cafe Rua, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

DedalusIreland - we're delighted you had such a great experience at cafe Rua. Thank you for taking the time to share it . Glad you enjoyed to Malbec too !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We can't understand why Cafe Rua is languishing in a lowly position for Mayo restaurants.     We are well travelled and major foodies and Cafe Rua represents the Best of the West to us.  Fresh local produce, beautifully cooked and presented, sublime baking and the friendliest, most efficient staff both in the restaurants and the deli. Our overseas visitors are similarly impressed and it was one of these who drew our attention to the tripadvisor rating which doesnt reflect a restaurant that is winning national awards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank L0vedayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeRua, Owner at Cafe Rua, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thanks so much for your kind review - we're delighted you enjoy both the cafes and the deli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a must to have on your pull down menu if you're passing through Castlebar regularly.There's actually two different branches,one on Spencer street which is probably the showpiece venue as it is more contemporary in feel and the New Antrim street joint.Quality is present in both.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeRua, Owner at Cafe Rua, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thanks for taking the time post a review Derek - glad you enjoyed your visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I'm from Castlebar but live in Dublin. Every time I'm home in Castlebar, I come here with the folks for lunch. It easily surpasses any of the local competition by a country mile. The menu is varied and interesting and the food is delicious. A great place to come for lunch with excellent service and not overly pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jayom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeRua, Owner at Cafe Rua, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments jayom - hope you can drop by next time you're in Castlebar !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rua also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Cafe Rua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing