We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Muretto

Al Muretto
Ranked #8 of 55 Restaurants in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $157
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We tried here for the first time last week. Food was really nice, and they were large portions. Friendly staff. Tables are a bit close together but worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keith k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    54
    14
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous as always”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Have had the pleasure of dining here several times and found it to be consistently good food and service. The restaurant has a real Italian authenticity about it. Great menu to suit all taste buds. Although some reviewers have said its pricey, to be honest I feel the food quality and service matches the price. Would certainly recommend Al Muretto.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best meal in Ireland to date”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We went to Al Muretto for my birthday dinner tonight, and oh my goodness, it was delicious. My husband and I had the early bird dinner and brought home at least half our main courses to savor tomorrow. Our starters were the chicken wings in garlic sauce and the crostini... both were fantastic! Hubs had the pizza with pepperoni and mushrooms, and I had the lemon chicken. So good. Our son ordered a pepperoni pizza and ended up taking home half. Dessert, a glass of wine and tea/coffee were included with the special.

The space is nice and comfortable, and the staff friendly. There is a bit of a wait between courses, but that is to be expected with good Italian food. We enjoyed the meal more because we weren't rushing through it.

We will definitely be back. Thanks for an excellent meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ImagineYourselfThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bellisimo! 9/10”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

First visited some 10 years ago I found the experience to have remained very good. Toasted garlic bread drizzled with olive oil with garlic mushrooms on the top was a delicious starter. Five small slices of bread for one shared between four and very ample as a starter. Three pasta dishes and one risotto for our main course with the pasta having been made and imported from the north of Italy. Spaghetti Primavera (Linguine on the menu but more than happy to change to spaghetti), Ravioli with 4 cheeses, Ravioli with mushrooms stuffed with pancetta and Risotto with seafood were all perfect. The red house wine to be recommended and two deserts shared by four - real Italian ice-cream (chocolate, banana and cherry) and cheesecake served with vanilla ice-cream. The only criticism on the food, the biscuit base for the cheesecake was over cooked and rather hard.

The waiters were efficient, friendly but not intrusive and spoke a good level of English.

Price - the best meal we had whilst there in terms of value for money, quality and quantity.

Hoping they're still there the next time I'm in Castlebar in Co Mayo.

They also have a full pizza menu and I believe do cater for take-away dishes.

The restaurant is a member of the Ciao Italia, a worldwide association of Real Italian Restaurants.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan159937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant in heart of Castlebar”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We just happened upon this place by chance during recent visit to Castlebar on Easter Bank Holiday weekend. It was one of the few remaining places still open for business - which was a bit strange for an Easter Saturday night - last service here is up to 11pm!

Food was tasty and very reasonable - didn't try the wine but they seemed to have good wine list. We opted instead for Italian beer - well, when in Rome....or should that be when in Al Muretto Next time I'm in Castlebar I would certainly considering paying this place another visit. Staff friendly and very efficient and they seemed to genuinely appreciate the custom..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grace-Heno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Muretto also viewed

 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Al Muretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing