We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXTREMLY overpriced !”
Review of Al Muretto

Al Muretto
Ranked #8 of 56 Restaurants in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $157
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
west of ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“EXTREMLY overpriced !”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We asked for enuf bruschetta for 4 as a starter, they brought 4 lrg plates of bruschetta which we cudnt finish as we knew we were all havin pasta as mains.The main was small enuf but tasty,we asked for two baby bowls of pasta an the head waiter insisted on us havin an adult size an Sharing,over half was left as the kids were only 2 an 3 but we still got charged full price, for our starters,4 bowls of pasta 4 glasses of wine and one baby scoop of ice cream our bill was €163 scandalous, won't be going again !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayoWestOfIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    55
    14
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Food”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Came across this lovely restaurant by complete accident in Castlebar. We had no reservation but they were thrilled to accommodate us. The food was delicious and we had a gorgeous meal. The only problem with the cheese pasta dish I got was it was too cheesey (and I love my cheese) & very heavy with nothing to break up the creaminess (a salad would have been perfect). However, that it only a small gripe. The other three in the family (including boys age 8 and 12) loved their dishes. Would recommend this restaurant and probaly go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meath_IrelandJeanKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempo, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was one of five restaurants recommended to us and chose it purely because of their early bird menu which was 4 courses with a glass of wine for €19.9. The food was delicious and the staff were so friendly and welcoming. Graet value for money and we'd definitely go again next time we're in Castlebar. Only negatives are they could invest in new high chairs and also some baby chaning facilities as I had to do this on the toilet floor.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“5* meal and excellent service”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Loved this restaurant. The staff were native italians which made it feel even more authentic. They were very professional, pleasent and treated us really well without being stuck in your face and watching your every move. The meal was absolutley outstanding, I had the ravioli with bacon lardons and creamy mushroom sauce. It was put inside a basket made out of parmeasan cheese. It was AMAZING!!!! I cannot praise it enough. I left this restaurant feeling very full and very very impressed. It was also excellent value for money.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma lou m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Buon appetito”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice atmosphere with Italian staff.The food was very good and well presented.The early bird menu is very good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blank77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Muretto also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Al Muretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing