We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dine here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calvey's Restaurant - CLOSED

Calvey's Restaurant
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dine here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went back to Calveys for their rack of lamb! It was even nicer second time round. We both had a Crab to start, this was on a set menu but they allowed us to chop and change courses to our own tastes. Our rack was served pink as required and presented on a stack of rosemary cream potatoes and a sprig of fresh rosemary. This is the best lamb you will ever taste. Service was attentive and our accommodating waitress couldn't do enough for us. When she heard we had returned just for the lamb she offered us two complimentary drinks at the end of our meal. As someone else is famous for saying ....we will be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DublinKitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“winner all right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Myself and a group of friends dined here on the night of the half marathon. I just had to say that the experience was terrific. Great choice, great service and great atmosphere. Excellent food, all of us really enjoyed our meals. We sampled their lamb, steaks, platters the crab was the winner for us. All of us would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madtorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Dinners at Calvey's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

While vacationing on Achill Island in June, my wife, Kathy and I had the opportunity to dine at Calvey's. I had the rack of lamb and Kathy had the mussels. Both were exquisite. Great service as well. We liked it so much, we returned 2 nights later for their steak special. Again, another great experience.

If you're vacationing in Keel on Achill Islland, you won't be disappointed at Calvey's

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

After a day touring Achill we arrived at Calveys tired, cold and very hungry. We were early they open at five and that was half an hour away! The door was open and we let ourselves in. Inside we meet the chef and she greeted us warmly, sat us next to the radiator, got us the menus went off and returned with a platter of warm dipping breads, homemade soda breads and a jug of water. She told us the waitress would be along soon but she could take our order and get things started. The rack of lamb was recommended as it was not only local to the area but from the farm of the owners. I choose a butternut squash soup and himself had black pudding. We both went with the chefs choice of the lamb. We tucked into our starters both were excellent. We were half way through our stater when our pleasant waitress arrived and open officially at five.. The racks were as good as she said we scraped the bones. For dessert we had a roulade and one of the nicest raspberry penne cotta iv had. It was a delightful meal. Hitting all the spots. Service was above and beyond. We left for Westport totally content.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vwestcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"School Dinners"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Whoever rated this restaurant for an award needs to check their taste buds! The only good thing I can say about the food was that the crab was ok......but that was an easy dish! The restaurant had more flies than customers!
The main was like a very poor school dinner on a bad day and the crumble was frankly Yuk! Poor quality and definitely would not recommend you eat here! I feel sorry for the waitress as she tried her best to serve.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suu1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calvey's Restaurant also viewed

Kilmaine, County Mayo
 
Ballinrobe, County Mayo
Ballyhaunis, County Mayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing