We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good locations, rooms are okay but the lobby is loud is hell”
Review of Glenside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The location is about 2km outside of drogheda, really quiet. The rooms are big enough, nice beds and flatscreen tv. The bath (especially the toilets) are old and look really used. But it is okay. The lobby can be rented as a partylocation and that makes this Hotel to one of my worst fail bookings. It was so loud that it felt like someones banging on the Wall behind my head. I went to the receiption at 0am and said that i wont pay 80€ for such a volume. Her answer:"sorry for that the Party is over at 2am". Excellent.. Couldnt sleep all night for 80€.

I do not recommend this hotel except you ask before your booking if there's a party in your planned time...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glensidehotel, Manager at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I was extremely disappointed to read that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Normally when we have a function booked in the hotel all of our rooms are occupied with guests attending the function. On the rare occasion when a non attendee books a room on a function night, our front of house team usually informs the person of the potential of loud music.

I was made aware of the disturbance to some residences and informed our front of house team to deal with each issue upon check-out and to my knowledge believed that each resident left satisfied. I sincerely apologise that we seemed to have missed the opportunity to rectify the situation with you prior to you leaving the hotel and would like to reach out to you to resolve your poor experience please contact me at ronan@glensidehotel.ie or call the hotel - 041 9829999.



Best,

Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 268 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed for one night and glad it was just one night. There was a lounge party going on until the middle of the night, thumping music non-stop. My wife tried to run a bath before bed after a long days travelling and found we had no hot water at all, she boiled the minature kettle for a wash. I went to reception but there was nobody there just the party in full swing! The room doors have a glass panel above them and we were fully illuminated all night from an intense corridor light, it was like someone shining a torch into the room all night. The walls are paper thin and we could hear the couple in the adjacent room, only talking thank God. Bathroom very tatty, broken tiles behind door, dirty grouting, and glass shelf above sink secured in place by folded toilet paper; sadly needs an overhaul. Breakfast was about the only positive thing we found at the Glenside.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenwich53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glensidehotel, Manager at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.



I was disappointed to read that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Usually, once there is a function booked in the hotel the rooms are fully booked by attendees of the function.
Obviously this was not the case for you and you should have been advised in advance.

I was made aware of the disturbance that 2 of our residents experienced and in both cases we understood that both guests were satisfied on departure. As this was not the case for you I would like to reach out to you to resolve your poor experience please contact me at ronan@glensidehotel.ie or call the hotel - 041 9829999.

Best,
Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Attended party at hotel. Have got to say the staff were probably the friendliest staff in any hotel I have stayed in. Bathrooms a bit dated and mould round shower cubicle, bit like stepping back to the 70's. Breakfast was beautiful, first class.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank JMB2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glensidehotel, Owner at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Jackiebeattie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read that you found our team to be so friendly and enjoyed your breakfast so much. We have noted your comment about the bathroom and are happy to report that the issue has been addressed. Having refurbished our bedrooms in 2013 we plan to complete our bathrooms in 2014.

Once again - thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor and I hope we will see you again at glensidehotel.ie


Best,

Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night while touring Meath. The hotel is a bit outside town but we had planned for a night in. The suite was beautiful and as pictured. On arrival the heat was off, fridge was unplugged and there was no glassware or crockery in the room, but this was all cheerily rectified by a quick trip to the front desk and the hotel bar. The restaurant menu looked delicious but we ended up eating in the pub area. The food was delicious, fresh and well-presented. The suite was quiet at the end of the hall and breakfast was fine. Don't be put off by the hotel exterior, all inside areas are clean and look new.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LaurieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glensidehotel, Owner at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear LaurieCB

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It was so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Hillary Suite. We apologise that the heating was not on and the fridge was unplugged but we are happy to read that our team responded to your requests of quickly.

Our chefs were delighted to read your comments on the meal, as they constantly strive to produce fresh, delicious meals on a daily basis.

We hope you enjoyed your tour of Meath and hope you will return to glensidehotel.ie in the near future.



Best,

Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very nice stay, staff were very friendly and helpful Bar food was excellent as was the breakfast. I would definitely stay there again if I had to go to Drogheda for any reason. Unfortunately was there for a funeral.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glensidehotel, Owner at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Ann M

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Glenside Hotel on Trip Advisor.

It was unfortunate that your stay with us was for a sad occasion but it looks like the team were able to provide you with the comforts you needed. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best
Ronan McAuley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We just got married here on Saturday and the service from start to finish was amazing!

The staff just couldn't do enough for us AND all of our guests. Check-in was smooth and all our requests were met. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the Bridal Suite was incredible.

The meal was fantastic, so many of our guests have contacted us since to say the food was just amazing.

Christine on the Desk was so chatty and friendly and helped us with any last minute requests we had.

But Marie the wedding planner was simply superb, she is this hotels biggest asset. She calmed us down when we were nervous and her whole demeanour made the day run so much smoother. Everything was done in our time and Marie made sure we had time for just the 2 of us on the day as well.

Everyone who attended was so impressed they will definitely be back and we cannot praise the hotel & staff enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glensidehotel, Owner at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear LauraOB

Thank you for taking the time to share your Glenside experience with Trip Advisor and thank you for choosing The Glenside to host your special day.

We have shared your review with our team that looked after you on the day and they are delighted to read that you took the time to review the Glenside Hotel so soon after your wedding day. Our team were delighted to read that you and your guests found them so friendly and helpful. Our chefs were even more delighted to read just how much everyone enjoyed the wedding banquet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glenside Hotel very soon.

Best
Ronan McAuley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We got married there!!! Lovely staff, marvelous bedrooms, delicious food!!! Everything was wonderful!!!
I couldn't recommended it more!!!
Rooms were renewed and they are really clean.
Food portion in huge and so so so tasty!
Staff is brilliant. So helpful and friendly!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
2.6 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,306 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
399 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
3.8 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
20.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenside Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Co. Meath, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: $87 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenside Hotel is set in a peaceful countryside setting. Located 2 km south of the historic town of Drogheda, the Glenside Hotel is well renowned for great food and warm friendly service. Specialising in weddings and family-orientated celebrations, the hotel facilities include 16 well-appointed rooms, a cosy lounge bar, A la Cárte Restaurant and a ballroom which can cater for functions from 20 to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Glenside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing