We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at Scholars.We used a living social deal for the first time and didn't really know what to expect and we definitely were not disappointed.The friendliness from all staff was amazing nothing was too much trouble.Our room was tastefully furnished and the bed was really comfortable.We had a very enjoyable dinner and breakfast,food first class .We strongly recommend Scholars for a break and we will return.Thank you all for an enjoyable time.Trevor and Eliz Boyd

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobydobelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Scholars Townhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 515 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just stayed in scholars with a living social deal and will definately return for both restaurant and a hotel break. Service was just how it use to be before the boom. Genuine guys treating everyone with the same courteous manner throughout. Fab place. Fab service. Fab food. Don't change a thing!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie3555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review. The living social deal will be running again in Late December for early January deals. We look forward to your return.

Regards

Mark Mc Gowan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our second visit for dinner. On a previous occasion a small problem was quickly and efficiently resolved by our waiter, who was it turned out, the manager.
On our recent visit I was actually settling the bill when I was spoken by the manager. He could address both my wife and myself by our first names (which we had mentioned on first trip). He enquired about our experience on this occasion; he remarked that I had been fair in my trip advisor review. Nice to do business with people like that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank septagenarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you again for giving us another very good review it is much appreciated. We always remember the foodies. I hope we really give you an excellent experience on your next visit, I look forward to your return.

Regards

Mark Mc Gowan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our room was monastery-style--with lovely stained glass gothic windows and wood paneling. The bed was excellent--firm and as big as the room could accommodate. Downstairs, the dining room (where we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast) ws elegant and bright with morning light, but it was the bar/pub where we ate dinner--cozy, with good food, nice lighting and comfortable seating. The people were very friendly and helpful. I can think of only one negative about Scholars: the walkway outside is slippery when it rains.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Spencil

It is always nice to get a five star review from an accomplished traveller. Thank you for such sincerity and we look forward to your return.

Regards

Mark Mc Gowan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went to this hotel through a deal on Living Social. A little hard to find, but that's mostly down to the south's lack of signage than anything else. On first going in, it's warm, cosy - homey. It's on the smaller side of hotel's, but that's all part of it's charm. The staff are friendly, and not the typical 'this is a hotel and we have to be friendly.' It's genuine. There's only 18 rooms and 2 floors. The rooms are small - but cosy, same with the bathroom. But it has all the essentials! And you won't be bumping into one another either!

The resturant has the typical type of food. Not a large vegeterian selection, for me I found it a let down, but my partner enjoyed their meal. So it's a taste thing more than anything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting such a fantastic review for us on tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and got such a great deal on Living Social. In regards to the vegetarian options we have soup or potato cakes as a starter and wild mushroom risotto or penne arrabiatta as maincourse. We also will make up dishes as required as all of our food is cooked to order. We will always accommodate where required. If you have any suggestions of vegetarian options you would like to see on the menu please let us know and we will try to put them on for your next visit.

Regards

Mark Mc Gowan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at this superb hotel!! The staff were pleasant,courteous and extremley helpful from the very start - this makes a stay in a hotel so much more pleasant!!!!!!

The food was amazing and worthy of all the accolades and awards - we were blown away by the monkfish dish and the steak was second to none! The side dishes of potato gratin and chips went down a treat!!!! The dining room is really well decorated with plenty of history round the walls and we enjoyed the easy going atmosphere. We could tell the breakfast each morning was freshly cooked as it was served warm and very tasty! Loved the fact that the coffee was freshly made and not instant and that bottles of water were available for diners.

The rooms were slightly smaller than usual and we thought the price of wine was just a bit much but overall we loved this hotel! We would highly recommend it and look forward to returning soon.

Congratulations to the owner on a fabulous hotel!! Your staff both at front of house and behind the scenes are a credit to you!!

We look forward to returning soon!!

Julie

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazydays10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Julie

Thank you for posting a review. I am delighted that you had such an excellent experience, It is great to know that the staff have delivered a quality service once again. We are passionate and enjoy serving such superb guests... we look forward to your return.

Regards

Mark Mc Gowan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Had dined here before on a sunday from the sunday menu which was fantastic, however went for dinner with partner for her birthday on a friday night, atmosphere was non existent, room was cold, starters were caesar salad pretty basic same everywhere i guess, both had chicken for main was only ok was expecting more from this venue. Wont be back any time soon

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kos26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Kos

Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent experience. I am dissapointed to hear that the room was cold for you on arrival although we could of moved you to a table closer to the fire on request. The Caesar salad is a hugely popular dish that we serve on the early bird menu. Caesar salad is a classic dish and would be very similar in many places as Caesar dressing would be a specific recipe. The free range chicken breast is also very popular served on a bed of pak choi with chorizo and herb stuffing baby roast potatoes and sorrell and chablis cream sauce. It is very difficult to respond to this issue as the review is in-explanatory. I apologise the experience was not to your liking, however if you do decide to return we would like to try make the experience a memorable one so please do let us know when you are joining us as we would like to make amends.

Regards

Mark Mc Gowan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
373 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
255 reviews
18.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10.2 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scholars Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scholars Townhouse Hotel

Address: King Street, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: $140 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scholars Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1867, this charming town house has been tastefully renovated in a modern style, whilst retaining its historic charm, with stained glass windows and high coved ceilings. Once used as a Christian Brothers house, Scholars now provides all the facilities and features of modern accommodation. It occupies a privileged position in the centre of the historic town of Drogheda, County Louth, only 20 minutes from Dublin airport via the nearby M1 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scholars Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scholars Townhouse Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing