We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I got a really good price including breakfast. I spent the afternoon in the lovely bar, surfing the internet on my laptop, where I was attentively waited on. There is free wi-fi allover the hotel and free parking, perfect for a business user.

The food was excellent and I enjoyed my wine as the hours passed away. There was also a covered smoking area to the side just 2m from the bar-great!

t's a beautiful period building, the room was spotless clean (although a little dated). The room was small and had a tiny 14" old style TV but had everything I needed and was very comfortable. I was told by the receptionist that the rooms on my corridor are next to be refurbished.

I look forwarding to coming back next year and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnChapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 536 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

Beautiful little boutique hotel set in an old Christian brothers residence. Immaculate both inside and out with a cozy little bar and elegantly appointed restaurant. Service is excellent and staff appear to be highly trained. Menu is slightly limited but everything is cooked to perfection. Rooms are okay. Not great but not bad and I would have no problem staying there again. Altogether a great little spot.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Similarsimian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Spent three nights in September. Nicely located, within easy walk of most places in Drogheda. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Building had some history and class to it, unlike many other hotels we stayed at in Ireland. Will definately stay there again if ever in Drogheda.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Scholars Townhouse for 4 nights in September. The rooms are small and lack suffcient light and hanging space. That was our only complaint. The service was exceptional: willing, friendly and efficient. The staff went to great lengths to accomodate us. The restaurant is also excellent. The food was great and again, the service was outstanding. The hotel is a little hard to find because of the one way streets in Drogheda, but there is ample off street parking once you find it. It's a short walk from most of the historic buildings of Drogheda. The small front garden is very pretty and the public rooms are well decorated. (Scenes of the Battle of the Boyne in the restuarant are a bit startling.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mungo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is a really nice building but I have to be honest I wasn't there long enough to get a full impression of it. The restaurant was good for breakfast even after developing a decent hangover by visiting a friend the night before... Reminded me of an old library or even halls of residence - very pleasant.

The room itself was finished to a high standard, but a couple of minor annoying points. The main light switch that actually controlled one of the bedside lamps was next the door, meaning I had to get up switch the light on/off... (I said it was minor!)

Otherwise, in my short stay, it was perfectly fine. 79 Euros for B&B ain't too shabby either.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rednap36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

After several nights in B&Bs, it was nice to relax in a hotel with amenities. The staff goes out of their way to make you welcome. The rooms are quiet and the beds comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't forget the lift to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Lovely converted school house, very small but cosy rooms, lots of carpet and wood-panelling. The kind of bar that makes you want to stay on and drink brandy and smoke cigars.
Staff are really welcoming and friendly. Food was really good too - giant crab claws for starters are a must! Had smoked salmon and perfectly poached eggs for breakfast - one of the best hotel breakfasts that I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boxty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
399 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
268 reviews
22.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,412 reviews
14.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scholars Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scholars Townhouse Hotel

Address: King Street, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: $108 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scholars Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1867, this charming town house has been tastefully renovated in a modern style, whilst retaining its historic charm, with stained glass windows and high coved ceilings. Once used as a Christian Brothers house, Scholars now provides all the facilities and features of modern accommodation. It occupies a privileged position in the centre of the historic town of Drogheda, County Louth, only 20 minutes from Dublin airport via the nearby M1 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scholars Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scholars Townhouse Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing