We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at restaurant review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I'm reviewing the restaurant here rather than the hotel because while I've eaten here many times, I've never stayed as I live locally.

I was extremely surprised to read the review which stated that the doorman "scowled" at children. I have eaten here on numerous occasions with my three young children, myself and my husband would eat dinner here when we have a babysitter, and I have been for lunch with many visitors including a vegan, and an elderly relative from Canada who loved it so much we were back four times over the course of one week. We have always had good food and good service, and I've never had a problem with my children eating there or any "frostiness" from the staff. I certainly would hope that nobody with children would read this review and be put off from eating there, as unfortunately there is a lack of choice of good restaurants in Drogheda and it would be a pity to lose out on the nice experience that is Scholars by reading this review.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notmyrealname32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 525 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

Beautifully decorated hotel in very central location.Food was good especially breakfast.
Stayed with my husband and son and in my opinion the hotel was perhaps a bit too formal for children.
In saying that a great hotel for couples.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I booked several rooms in Feb 11 for clients and I will not use this hotel again. All clients complained that the rooms were freezing cold and none had hot water the following morning. I was still charged the full price despite complaining. In fairness to the Hotel they explained the heating was broken during my guests stay and it was a once off. The rooms were absolutely tiny, with almost no space to move. One of my clients complained he had to iron his shirt in the hallway as he couldn't do it comfortably inside the room. The bar area has a good atmosphere and the building is nice but I will never send another client to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abugerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholars, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

I regret the fact that you have made your decision not to stay at Scholars after your clients disappointing visit. You are correct in your statement regarding the rooms being cold on the night in question. We had a technical issue with our heating system which was out of our control, to counteract that we put portable heaters in every room that requested them and extra blankets if anybody needed them. When you called reception after your clients stay, You refused to speak to a Manager. I personally left messages and rang several occasions to your office to call me back, as I wanted to resolve the matter by possibly not charging you for some of the rooms. If you would like to call me to resolve the matter I would be happy to take the call. The rooms are relatively small and as a listed building could not be enlarged during renovations for heritage reasons. Each Bedroom has been approved by Failte Ireland as three star criteria. Our rooms are fully equipped with all facilities that of any modern hotel. Our more regular corporate clients from Bridgestone,Coca-Cola, Flogas, Sony and certain government officials have never had to bring an ironing board outside their bedroom to iron their shirt. Scholars Townhouse Hotel is renowned for its remarkable quality in the Hospitality sector and will do its utmost ensuring it stays that way. Once again, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience.

Regards.
Mark Mc Gowan
Proprietor/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We recently had our wedding at this wonderful hotel and can't say enough nice things about it. From Hazel, one of the managers, to the lovely staff, we had a day to remember. Everything from start to finish was 1st class. The food was wonderful, everybody passed comment on it. Thank you, Scholars for making our special day, one of the best days of our lives.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carberry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We recently had a family dinner here and it was far from satisfactory.Although the service was fine,the food was not as described on the menus.Each course was rather bland to say the least and certainly not value for the prices charged.The restaurant is not child friendly and the owner/doorman scowls at the young children if they put a foot wrong.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suzaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Well it has to said that the word "quality" actually means something to the staff and proprietors of this delightful hotel.

Food is first class, the bar is warm and charming with experienced staff who are keen to be attentive and considerate.

I can not say enough to justify the incredible value and quality of this little diamond. Surely has to be one of the best establishments in Drogheda if not the Island.

A fine hotel. You will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomohawk999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stopped off at the Scholars Townhouse hotel at the end of our holiday and it really topped off a great break away around Ireland. We were warmly welcomed by staff and from the beginning they could not do enough for us. We had dinner in the restaurant that evening and it is no exaggeration to say that it was simply the the best meal that I can recall for a very long time. Staff were friendly an courteous at all times, and I can honestly say that I cannot recommend this hotel and restaurant highly enough.
We noted that the Hotel runs Gourmet Nights on occasion with World Master Chef George Smith, and will definitely be looking to make one of these in the future. Check out their website for details if you're going to be in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sikelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
258 reviews
18.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
21.7 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scholars Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scholars Townhouse Hotel

Address: King Street, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: $102 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scholars Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1867, this charming town house has been tastefully renovated in a modern style, whilst retaining its historic charm, with stained glass windows and high coved ceilings. Once used as a Christian Brothers house, Scholars now provides all the facilities and features of modern accommodation. It occupies a privileged position in the centre of the historic town of Drogheda, County Louth, only 20 minutes from Dublin airport via the nearby M1 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scholars Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scholars Townhouse Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing