We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smiling forbidden”
Review of Westcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westcourt Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Smiling forbidden”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Went in on a saturday afternoon for a bite,asked for tea,
Pint of Guinness and a sandwich,plenty of staff one thing on common no smiles, took about 15 minutees to attract a waitress,then about 10 minutes for drink to arrive sandwich was not good, how hard to get a salad sandwich wrong! Asked for another pint of Guinness and gave up and left terrible,unsmiling,unhappy staff just threw everything at you maybe they got their wages cut in half or something two other couples left before they got served. It's a disaster feel sorry for the owners.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank toohotinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    96
    47
    21
    22
See reviews for
81
98
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Co Louth
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I travelled with my sister n law and sister. When we arrived the receptionist had no problem finding a room with three separate beds and advised us as it was on the 1st floor it would be noisier than the room she had allocated us on the 2nd floor. We decided on the 1st floor. Our room was clean and spacious with tea and coffee making facilities. Free parking behind the hotel in Spar car park. The hotel bar was v busy later in the evening and there was also a wedding on. The music stopped at 1.30 we had been forewarned! Breakfast was not included in our stay so we paid 7.20 for a substantial feast that set us up for the day! Very good value. I got a small bottle of wine by room service on the Saturday night and the night porter added it to our bill at a cost of approx 25e which was obviously a mistake. On check out when the receptionist asked for this on our bill she quickly removed the cost of the wine completely - very good customer service. We were too tired for an argument and we were impressed with the receptionist making this decision. Overall we would recommend this hotel again once you don't mind the noise. A perfect location for shopping in Drogheda, will return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not directly over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiFi64CoLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Myself and ten others stayed here for my hen night in February. What can I say? The hotel was lovely :) rooms were very nice. we went for a meal downstairs and it was fabulous. staff was extremely friendly. bit noisy at the weekends but its understandable with the night club close by but I would definitely recommend this hotel and would have no objections to staying here again. we all had a V.I.P reserved area in the hotel pub and in the nightclub..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed in Drogheda last night of a two week vacation because it's a short drive to airport. Wish we had made a different choice. The Westcourt is trying to present an upscale image but is stuck in a sort of 80's vibe. Room was on 2nd floor. Like most hotels in Ireland the room was small, but it was nicely decorated. The noise within the building made for a very long sleepless night. People were stomping around overhead all night long, doors banging, loud talking. The restaurant was recommended by a couple of people but it was truly the worst meal we had on our entire trip. I don't know if there is anywhere better to eat in the city--other options were Indian, Chinese, and Italian fare; pubs in this town don't serve food--but I recommend you avoid this place. I would avoid the entire town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdgree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is on the main street in Drogheda so at first you don`t know where to park but there are a few designated parking spaces behind the hotel, get directions from reception.
The room was beautifully decorated and the en suite bathroom was very large.
It is quite noisy first thing in the morning as we were at the front of the hotel and the delivery vans come early even on a sunday morning but if you are getting up early to sightsee then it won`t be a problem.No noise heard from the bar as the hotel seemed really quiet.
There was no lift so it was a bit of a struggle to get up the stairs with our belongings from the basement car park so would not suit if you had a disability or a problem climbing stairs.
It was satisfactory for the one night that it was required.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionatravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hi I stayed in the Westcourt the night before an interview so didn't really care all that much bout star ratings,etc.- all I wanted was a good night sleep and a place to get ready before interview the next morning- however this was not to be had due to the noise- creaky floor boards in our room and room above, whenever somebody opened / closed a door on same floor as us, our door would rattle & we could clearly hear laughing from room beside us- very frustrating!!!
Bed was grand as was the decor- a bit more 'dated' than boutique hotel. Also there was no lift. The middle- aged lady at the reception was very disorganised- everything on sheets- didn't think we had paid when we had, etc. When I informed her about the noise, she didn't apologise but took my number & said that she'd pass it onto her manager, but we never hear anything since.... wouldn't recommend staying here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jg1986_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

In this hotel's favour, it is in a central location. Also the receptionists were very friendly.

It was extremely noisy though and some of this noise could have been prevented. There was noise from 4 sources that we could hear in our room.
1st - the firedoor below us was broken so it made a loud bang every time someone went through it. This is the kind of thing that could easily be fixed.
2nd - outside our room was a massive extractor fan from one of the downstairs hotel areas - this was contstantly noisy all day and all night, even with the window closed.
3rd - There was noise from the bar including live music very late into the night
4th - We could hear the people in the room beside us having conversations in the middle of the night.

The only solution the hotel have to this is ear plugs which were not satisfactory.

The toilet didn't work well at all and did not flush everything away.

Added to this the room was extremely small and un-luxurious. There is no mini -fridge or anything like that. There was no phone to call reception and I don't think there was a safe either.

We were going away for a nice break and this hotel was just a source of annoyance and really put a dent in our weekend away.

When we got breakfast we were then harrassed by a drunk man who kept trying to mock everyone around him and grabbed all the buffet bread and shoved it in people's faces. I thought that this man should be asked to leave the breakfast area and not allowed to harrass customers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.7 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
250 reviews
6.6 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
13.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcourt Hotel

Property: Westcourt Hotel
Address: West Street, Drogheda 041, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 minutes from Dublin International Airport in the heart of Drogheda and the historical Boyne Valley, Westcourt Hotel is close to shopping centres, top golf courses, Newgrange and other historical areas, and is central and perfect for weekend getaways, family and business travel. Well connected by road and rail, and featuring modern rooms and high-speed internet access, Westcourt Hotel can accommodate meetings, conventions and weddings.Enjoy the buzz of Barroco Bar and Earth Nightclub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Westcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcourt Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing