We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The d Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westcourt Hotel(Drogheda)
$129
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenside Hotel(Drogheda)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseville Lodge B & B(Drogheda)(Great Value!)
$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Spoon and the Stars(Drogheda)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orley House(Drogheda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Lodge(Drogheda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Killowen House(Drogheda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aaron Vale(Drogheda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,345)
Filter reviews
1,345 results
Traveler rating
556
411
180
103
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
411
180
103
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivershopping centregastro pubsuperior roomwm cairnesmodern hotellive musicscotch hallgames roomtayto parkduty managerfree parkingwould highly recommend this hotelboth nightsfollowing morningfriday nightcar park
Filter
Updating list...
1,168 - 1,173 of 1,345 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2011

My wife and I had a weekend break in the D Hotel. Did not want to go to mad Dublin and Drogheda seemed a good alternative. Got a good price for a weekend break in a balcony superior room. Directions were not great and we had to negotiate teatime traffic to find the hotel. Free use of large public carpark opposite the hotel. Reception is functional but we found the service slow. There was one on reception checking in the weekend arrivals and answering the reservations phone. Eventually someone else came and helped. Room was really large and very comfortable. Bed was huge - watch out for the corners of the bedframe box. Large window over River Boyne and door to balcony. Have to admit that the view towards the viaduct was much better than the view across the river to Drogheda. The breakfast and dinner was great although first hotel ever that a fried egg was a special order. The bar had live music and we stayed there on Saturday night - two very talented and entertaining musicians. Cannot say that we were big fans of the cool looking chairs which were good for sitting back in but not best suited for sitting and talking. Anyway, the hotel is within walking distance of anywhere you would want to go in Drogheda and along the river and I would not hesitate to recommend it. The staff are more than friendly and helpful and we would look forward to returning, perhaps when the sun was a little bit warmer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smilingguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel recently and for posting your positive comments about the d hotel on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your comments about our great breakfast and dinner and our more than helpful and friendly staff. Please accept our apologies that you had a slight wait at reception and I am glad to hear some one came to help. I will be delighted to pass on these positive comments to all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed in The D Hotel recently with some friends to celebrate Valentines, had a brilliant experience right through. Beds are very comfortable, food great both in bar and restaurant, the staff are great - very helpful and friendly.
Ambience is relaxing without being over powering.
This is a great place to go for the stressed out business person- you can relax in this hotel from entry onwards and you leave with a great feeling of getting a value for money break.

I would highly recommend at stay at The D, and if you want to go shopping then you have a huge shopping mall next store with much better prices than we have in the west of Ireland.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iggy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel for Valentines and for posting your positive comments about the d hotel on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your comments about our comfortable beds, great food in the bar and restaurant and our very friendly and helpful staff. I will be delighted to pass on these positive comments to all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Just returned from a 1 night stay with my mum and my 6 month old daughter. I have stayed in this hotel twice before and the standard has defintely dropped.
The room was not really clean the service in the bar is terrible we ordered soup which took a lifetime to be served as there was one staff member in the bar.

In the evening we orderd food again as it was convenient with the baby and it was just ok. The lighting in the bedrooms is terrible there is no ceiling light just 2 low energy lamps, so reading is out of the question, we mentioned to the receptionist on check out and he just dismissed our complaint. I would think again before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honey94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2011

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel recently and for your feedback received through Tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and essential to us as we strive to become County Louth’s leading four star hotel.

Please accept our apologies for the obvious dissatisfaction you experienced in the bar area with the staffing and timing of food service. The lighting in the bedrooms is an area being currently addressed and should be rectified in a matter of time. It always our intention to ensure that guests leave the d hotel happy and it is most unfortunate that this did not happen in your case.

Rest assured I have addressed your feedback with the relevant staff to ensure no other guests experience the levels of dissatisfaction you have experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We saw a really good value deal advertised for this hotel recently and decided to give it a go. Now don't expect the glitz and glam of it's sister the G in Galway, but the D still does have beautiful bedrooms with very comfy beds . The staff were friendly too and overall I must say we enjoyed out time in the hotel - which is just as well, because we spent a LOT of time in the hotel. I must say Drogheda itself has very little to offer and we found it a very unpleasant place to wander about. We were verbally abused by some locals at St Lawrence's Gate and I found the town to be dreary and lacking in nice bars and restaurants. We ate in the hotel one night and the food was edible, but not at all up to the sandards you'd expect from a 4star hotel (if you order pad thai don't expect anything remotely thai looking to be served!). On our second night we at at the Eastern Seaboard, which was fantastic, but it's quite ouside the town centre.

Overall a really good hotel in a dreadful town. Stay here, but only if you MUST go to Drogheda

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank declanjhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel recently and for posting your positive comments about the d hotel on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your comments about our beautiful bedrooms and very comfy beds and our friendly staff.

Thank you also for dining in our bar and lounge during your stay and please accept our apologies that the Pad Thai was not to your liking. We also have a full a la carte and set menu available in our restaurant from 6-10pm daily as well as a Gourmet Burger and Pizza Menu.

Please accept our apologies that you found the town to be dreary and lacking in nice bars and restaurants. We are always delighted to recommend nice bars and restaurants to all guests which include Bru Bar & Bisttro, D'Vine, Chanco's, Quay 4, La Pizzeria, The Mariner, Scholars, Harrys, Black Bull and Indus.

In regards to Drogheda itself there is plenty to see and do in the town including two fantastic shopping centre including Scotch Hall adjacent to the hotel which includes Next, Coast, River Island, Waterstones and 40 more stores. From a Tourism point of view there is the Shrine of Oliver Plunkett, Millmount, Highlanes Gallery, The Tholsel (Tourist Office), Lawrences Gate, and very nearby there is Newgrange, Battle of the Boyne, Slane, Monasterboice, Mellifont, Funtasia Waterpark, The Droichead Arts Centre and The TLT Theatre, as well as golfing in Baltry, Seapoint & Bettystown and spa treatments are available in Le Spa Therapie.

Should you require any further information on any of these attractions please do not hesitate to contact us at the hotel or visit our website.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel and Drogheda in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I had planned a weekend in Barcelona with my sisters but Spanish air traffic control put a stop to that! So, stranded in Dublin airport, we decided to go to Drogheda for the weekend instead and contacted the D hotel who had a triple room free. I hadnt been to this hotel before. It's lovely. The room was lovely and the beds were perhaps the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Drogheda is a lovely town, and being Dubliners we had never stayed there before, so we had a lovely shopping weekend - there is a great new shopping centre right beside the hotel which was so handy in the snow! Staff couldnt have been friendlier and there was a great lively buzz in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallfootstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel recently and for posting your positive comments about the d hotel on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your comments about our lovely bedrooms and most comfortable beds and our friendly staff and the great lively buzz in the hotel. I will be delighted to pass on these positive comments to all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews