We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed a night in early June and found the hotel to be very nice. The service was very good and they did a good job accommodating our group for dinner at the pub located next to the hotel. The modern look was a nice contrast to the converted castle we stayed in the night before. We found the dramatic differences between the two kind of fun. There was a festival in town the weekend we were there so there was a bit of noise from the street but it did not bother us and it made the place feel fun and alive with energy. We would definitely stay here again. The food service was excellent.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peoriajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    356
    147
    86
    65
See reviews for
282
421
32
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Ok price, good service, breakfast was meh , TV died, our room was SO hot we couldn't sleep and the window only opened an inch - it was at least 15 degrees cooler in the hall, coffee nearby ( insomnia ) and a good pub next door w an AMAZING Guinness pie!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYandHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your constructive feedback received. Please accept our apologies about the upset caused to you. I hope if you brought these issues to our attention during your stay that we offered you a solution. If not please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a nice room overlooking the river. The room was spacious but the modernistic furniture was NOT comfortable. It is in a fairly good location with an indoor mall right next door. WiFi never worked (but they were 'working on it'. They did allow us to print our boarding passes for the next day from behind the front desk.

Room Tip: Try for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your constructive feedback received. Apologies that out wifi was down for one day due to external problems it is now fully operational and free. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Good central location on the river in Drogheda. There is a shopping mall next door and the old town is just a short walk across the river. Our room had a coffee maker, refrigerator, and safe. The mattresses are thin and sitting on a wooden bed frame so the bed was hard and not comfortable for me. However, the bigger concern was the noise from the band playing down stairs. We stayed there on a Saturday night and had a river view room on the 4th floor and, with no air conditioning, we had the window open until the band downstairs began to play. Even with the window closed the drum beat echoed until they stopped shortly after midnight. So, when you are choosing your room, you may want to check and see if the band is playing that night before choosing a river view.

Room Tip: when you are choosing your room, you may want to check and see if the band is playing that night bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twofromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your constructive feedback received. Please accept our apologies about the upset caused to you. I hope if you brought these issues to our attention during your stay that we offered you a solution. If not please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
rory@thedhotel.com
0419877700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

A one night stay at this Hotel was just what the doctor ordered. Spacious room overlooking the River. Quite and relaxing, the bar was very good and patio refreshing. Dinner was great and "Louise" our serving amazing and helpful. Breakfast was perfect.
Highly recommended, will stay at this Hotel again, although it could use a makeover as its getting a little grubby.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river only and higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in the D Hotel just one night for a Hen's party. The rate was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful and the entertainment GREAT. The room was a triple with 3 single beds, plenty of towels etc. Our dinner was lovely and we were treated with respect and courtesy at all times.

Room Tip: We had a river view with no balcony. Maybe request a balcony and you can go out for some air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Love love love this hotel... The staff are just brill so friendly and know how to have the Craic...the food is fantastic very large amounts on plate :) the cocktails are the nicest I have ever tasted :) the rooms are lovely....would defo recommend this hotel I can't wait to stay up there again...Just home yesterday from a Hen weekend up there and I miss it :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
18.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
13.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing