We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Modern Hotel in a nice central location. Comfortable well appointed rooms. Very happy with the Bar and extensive menu. Shopping Centre on site so all in all a good stay. Looks like a hotel that could become a regular place to stay on my travels

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Carraiglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel once again and for your positive feedback received.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scottt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our second visit to the D hotel with a group of 4 couples. We were there in December and returned for one night B&B with dinner. Rooms spotless. Staff welcoming and food amazing. Great value.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymcirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel once again and for your positive feedback received.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scottt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

As professional event managers we staged a business lunch event for clients on March 26th and were delighted with the experience. The new River Ballroom is perfect, the AV was perfect, the food presentation and taste was absolutely delicious and the service was superb. Well done one & all!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for hosting your conference at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scottt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We travelled to the d Hotel with our 2 small children for a family weekend away. The receptionist was extremely welcoming and gave our little girl a welcome pack, which included pages to colour, colouring pencils, a lollipop and some juice, which I thought was a really lovely touch (our little man was a bit small for these). We went to our room and they had forgot to put in a cot but on ringing down we had one in less than 5 minutes. We had booked in for a package which included Tayto Park and Funtasia Waterpark. Our room was very big and very comfortable with a lovely view out over the river. We went to funtasia the first day and when finished came back to the hotel as it is joined to a shopping centre and had a look around. Its a great location for the hotel and car parking was free one we were resident which was a bonus. There is plenty to see and do in the area. The only downside to the hotel is that there is only a very small bar, which is not very buggy accessible and by the evening was extremely full, noisy and hard to access for families with small children. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a fun filled weekend as the food was very good too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evely016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scottt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A party of 17 from the Suir Group, Waterford branch of the Active Retirement Association of Ireland, descended upon the "d" hotel in Drogheda, for a 2 night break in late March. On the afternoon of arrival we had a guided walking tour of the town, led by an experienced guide who certainly knew his town. The main object of the visit was to see the cultural sites situated nearby, namely The Battle of the Boyne visitor centre, the battle being an event that shaped the course of Irish history and the 5000 year old neolithic passage tomb at Newgrange. Both of these attractions were so interesting with excellent guides at both sites. Certainly the Newgrange site is a must if you are anywhere in the area.

The hotel was very smart, clean, modern and maintained to a high standard. I would reiterate what a previous reviewer said regarding the, as she stated, "the huge wooden ledge around the mattress". This did make it a little difficult to get out of bed, but apart from that the bed was very comfortable. The easy chairs in the bedroom also left a bit to be desired. Modern? yes, comfortable? yes, easy to get up from? a definite NO. The room allocated to me and my wife looked out over the River Boyne, not the most attractive of rivers at this point, but interesting none the less and better than some views we have had at some hotels. In fact all the members of our group were delighted with the standard of the accommodation. The staff were so pleasant, nothing was too much trouble for them. Our evening 3 course dinner was taken in the pub attached to the hotel and the food was absolutely excellent. If anything there was too much of it, several of us on our 2nd night settled for just 2 courses and that was quite enough. On this night we were informed there would be music in the bar, we were filled with horror as we had noticed the large speakers in the corners and thought we would be deafened (switch off your hearing aids lads). As it turned out it was traditional Irish music and we had a wonderful evening of very good music, singing and dancing from a very friendly group of enthusiasts.

Come the day of departure we were very loathe to leave as we had all had such a great time. If all this cultural stuff is not for you, then the "Scotch Hall Shopping Centre" is right next to the hotel.

Chris 45323.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris45323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks to you and your active retirement group for staying in the d hotel. We really appreciate the positive feedback and are delighted that your group enjoyed their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times and will definately stay again. Very clean which is always a good thing. Great that parking is so close and included. Got an unexpected upgrade last time I stayed to the Penthouse Suite which was a lovely surprise and very much appreciated. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29,122,014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying so often at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The staff were very nice and the breakfast was great. There was a good variety to choose from and the hot food was good. As far as the room, I would say its okay. The windows are so dirty you can't get the river view you pay for, the room could also use some painting and fresh carpeting. Otherwise beds are comfortable and shower is clean and has good pressure. You can't beat the location and the pub downstairs is also great. Might stay again if the rooms were remodeled a bit, but overall good hotel-not 4 or 5 stars but good.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Priscilla2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hitel and for your positive comments about our staff, breakfast and pub. We currently have plans to refurbish some bedrooms in the coming months.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
258 reviews
6.3 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
13.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: $88 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing