We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The d Hotel Drogheda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before leaving Ireland. The hotel was nice. Clean, good service and in a great location (on the river, center of town). Only complaint is that the rooms are VERY plain, not much decor and a little dated. Would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eurotraveler4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about our good service and clean hotel.
We are currently planning to refurbish some bedrooms which will be more colourful and warm and already have a sample room completed which we would be delighted to show you on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    353
    144
    84
    58
See reviews for
276
412
32
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and i have been staying in the D hotel since the 1st week it opened and we have stayed year on year ever since, we have stayed that many times now i cant recall how many it is, every time are stay is over we have never ever been disappointed, we have seen a few changes to the hotel over the years some big some small but all have positive and done from my opinion to move with the times, the food has always been top class the staff are all so genuine, helpful and pleasant nothings a problem, we have only ever had 2 small problems that aren't even worth mentioning, the 1st time several years ago Rory the manager sorted a problem we had up and above our expectations, the last time we stayed Neil done the same sorted the problem out up and above our expectations, Neil has worked at the hotel since it opened also and i cant recommend him enough, the young man knows his stuff and i can see why hes still there, so needless to say we will be back again soon hopefully. The D hotel is also a good base for a day trip into Dublin that's a short journey on the train....... Yours James & Allison kind regards. Cant wait to get back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allibow777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel so often and for your positive feedback about our friendly staff, the food and Neil in particular.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed in the d hotel at the weekend with my husband and friends or ours. From start to finish we had a super stay. Staff friendly and professional, rooms above average in size and comfort, food in bar and restaurant was top notch. The bar in the hotel had a great atmosphere during the day and night and as an added plus they provided complimentary food at half time of the Ireland v Italy game ... so very happy customers on all levels

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about our friendly staff and the food in our bar and restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

we stayed in D Hotel many times before, but this time was best, because it was our aniversary they upgraded us to a superior balcony room, absolutely georgous room, lovely view of river boyne and overlooking the wonderful medeival town with all its history on the hotels doorstep. The offer we had incluced a 3 course meal which was outstanding. the waitress/waiter attentive and friendly, the receptionist helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was delicious and everything about or stay was perfect. Can't wait to get back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosarie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about our friendly staff and the food in our restaurant De Lacy's.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed recently at the d hotel and loved it. From check-in we felt really welcome, staff throught the hotel and bar were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were recommended to try their new steak and seafood restaurant De Lacys and we are so glad we did, its a little gem. The food was amazing and the service even better. We will certainly be back soon.

Room Tip: Book a superior room the view of the river and the town was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about our friendly staff and the food in our new restaurant De Lacy's.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here around November last year. I had the Penthouse suite and got this as a present from a friend. I brought along my friend as the plan was for a shopping weekend. As we entered the penthouse suite the view was super although on close inspection the question could be asked was the room serviced? The bottles of shampoo and bubble bath half used, the marks on the walls, handmade buns which where as hard as the road. I asked to change rooms and the staff where only too pleased to help wasn't a suite but a newly done up room. We where very happy and the room had great views. The food in the restaurant was top class and could not fault in anyway. The breakfast the next morning a little cold but nice. The staff certainly turned by view point around and helped in anyway they could.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us in November and for your feedback received it is great to get such constructive feedback from fellow hospitality staff. Thank you for your positive feedback about our staff, food and our new sample room.
Apologies that our Penthouse Suite was not to your liking. Since you have stayed we have refreshed our penthouse suite and we would be delighted to show it to you on your return.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The D hotel is central in Drogheda, nice place , a bit over average. Good value for money and the food is not bad at all. But take your toiletries, they're not on top of that ,theirs is ok if you have none. The staff are friendly and nice as well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying with us again at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about the hotel, staff and food. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.6 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing