We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in Drogheda” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The d Hotel Drogheda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Drogheda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel was the last stop on our 11 day trip through Ireland. It provided us with one great last night before returning to the US. Our room was spacious, comfortable and with a view of the city from across the river. We had a long, leisurely supper there and finished in a pub next to the hotel. With our trip coming to an end, we were able to go to the shopping mall next door to get last minute souvenirs.

Room Tip: The guide on our walking tour of Drogheda gave a "textbook" your, giving is little feel fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank habinvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    353
    144
    84
    58
See reviews for
276
412
32
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the night after our wedding last September. The staff were very friendly, the room was excellent. It was big, modern and the bed was very comfortable. Next morning at breakfast we were looked after very very well by one the duty managers Michael. Breakfast was delicious and service was prompt. Although i am a local i would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Well ..where do i start. The dhotel describes itself as a luxury 4* in the heart of drogheda. The location could not be better but unfortunately my experience has ruined what was supposed to be a great weekend away. From check-in to departure our stay was a catalogue of disasters.

When we arrived on Sat 20.10.13 @ 3pm I was asked to pay a 50euro pre authorisation on arrival amount. I handed over my Visa Debit (Ulster Bank NI) was given my room card and told dinner was booked for 7.30pm. The receptionist failed to tell me where the restaurant was or where and what time breakfast was at the following morning. - We had to telephone and ask! I queried if the 50e would come out of my account and was assured that no - it would only be used against payment the following morning - fair enough except when i checked my bank account - an amount of 178e/158stg was missing. I thought i would leave it until i was contacted - presumed this was normal procedure.....

The room was a superior balcony - adequate to say the least - carpet had numerous red wine stains. View was good and bed comfortable. despite being on the 1st floor (room 101) noise level wasn't a problem. We where supplied with 2 bath towels - I had to call for more.

Dinner that evening was included in our room rate. The 3 course menu was ok - not much choice. Dinner is in the pub to the side of the hotel - i was expecting a romantic atmosphere but we where surrounded my Halloween decor - coffins etc - didn't do much to help the mood. The food was good and staff friendly. However, they presented us with a bill of over 70e - we had to explain the meal was included in the room rate....

Breakfast - well we had to queue for 10 minutes for a table. When we finally got seated we made our way to the buffet and on our return found our table had in fact been given to another couple!!!!!! Not exactly a 4* service

At checkout I gave our room number to a pleasant member of staff. She advised I had 128e outstanding on my bill. I advised no the hotel had taken payment PLUS and extra 50e. I was then asked to wait a moment until another member of staff called us to the corner of the reception and explained that on arrival the receptionist had mistakenly processed my debit card but had refunded the full amount straight away - at no point prior was I told this, despite the hotel being aware this was my current account. I was not very happy at all, The manager on duty advised the member of staff 'she wasn't going to deal with this now' - offered us a discount of 50e on the bill and assured us the issued would be sorted. I advised as the refund was not in my account I would not be authorising any further transactions to be taken from the card.

Imagine my horror when I checked my account at home and seen more money missing. I called the bank who told me a further 78e was taken by a POS transaction at 12.36pm AFTER I had left the hotel. in addition the the 178e they had already taken!!!!!!!!!

I called the hotel and 4 hours later i received a phonecall from another manager who hadn't realised there staff had tried to cover up the mistake - hoping I wouldn't notice that over 200quid was missing from my account. Not only do I think it is theft, its deceitful and dishonest and not something a 4* hotel would usually value as good customer service?????

As yet I am now waiting for a THIRD manager to call me back - no reply from my email sent yesterday and no refund in my account. I am appalled. What was supposed to be a good weekend was ruined and not to mention the effect it has had on my bank account.

Customer Service at its WORST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and once again apologies for the upset caused. However we must clarify it was the hotel who emailed you to apologise and you then responded to this email to a specific manager. The manager concerned was off duty until the next evening however following a tweet from you to the hotel the manager on duty that evening called you as did the manager the following morning so as to rectify the situation as soon as possible. As you wished to speak with the manager you had been dealing with you asked to have her call you back when she was on duty. Which she did straight away and explained the situation to your satisfaction.
Apologies that you were not happy for the other managers to call you however our managers work shifts and therefore are not always on duty and we were responding ASAP to your upset. Apologies once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your complimentary nights stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived on a Saturday and given a room on the 3rd floor. They had a wedding celebration that night and astonishingly the windows were rattling from their revelling so much so that one would have thought that the wedding was being held in our room. We were deafened by its loudness and were moved to another room, this time on the fourth floor located above their pub. The whooping and hollering of their patrons could be heard even there and you could still hear the wedding in the hallway on the fourth floor. The staff were gracious and helpful but the noise level was intolerable at best. The only way we could get to sleep was to use a white noise app on the Ipod.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patronofthearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The d hotel D, Guest Relations Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your feedback received. Please accept our apologies for the upset caused. It is unfortunate that you did not ask to speak with management during your stay as we would have done everything possible to rectify it.. Rest assured based on your feedback relevant departments has been notified. We really do value your custom and hope it does not affect your overall impression of the hotel.

I hope we have the opportunity to redeem ourselves to you in the future and should you consider return to us I would ask that you contact me directly prior to your return at hello@thedhotel.com or 041 9877700.

Vaidotas Maneikis

The d hotel

hello@thedhotel.com

0419877700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's well localized in the city. But food is not good. So, you might take advantage of the excellent restaurants in the neighborhood and enjoy them. It's a good place to sleep and you can go to the mall through the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000sPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Had delicious eggs benedict for breakfast, to the room. Delicious dinner the night before in wm cairnes gastro pub. Service very good & excellent location beside shipping centre. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were particularly impressed by the staff here. The front desk was excellent in assisting us with all of our needs. The morning breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful. the hot breakfast was delivered quickly and the coffee pots were always full. Free parking was good.

The restaurant Cairns was very good service as well. We would recommend the seafood chowder and the fish and chips.

With the gps it was a little difficult to find initially, but it is on the Boyne River and next to the Scotch Hall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.6 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing