We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Spent one night in this hotel recently - great location, very spacious and comfortable room with a nice view over the river. The staff were very friendly and dealt with a little confusion over the reservation promptly and professionally. There is a free car park across the road which is convenient. The pub within the hotel is well worth a visit - such a contrast to the modern hotel. Price is reasonable also. I hope to go back soon

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beahive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    372
    156
    93
    75
See reviews for
290
448
32
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
enniskillen
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

we stayed at this hotel on the 17th march. very busy and we arrived early but didnt get checked in until nearly 2 which was ok with us as we just left our bags in the car in the free carpark across the road. drogheda was very busy that day and night and i was glad that i had booked a table for dinner in the bru restaurant which was lovely. we couldnt get sitting or even standing room in the hotels bar. we tried on a few occasions but did not get in all day or all night. probably get in on an ordinary day or night. the room was clean and large with modern furniture and the largest bed i have ever slept in. the only 2 things i didnt like about the room were the seating and the lighting. there was a low sofa like seat with a footstool and the other seat was like a small deckchair which didnt look very safe to sit on. the lighting was also very bad but didnt hinder our stay.we had a great view over the river boyne and i had requested a high floor room and i got a room on the 5th floor. there are 6 floors in the hotel. the bathroom was also large and clean and had a bath. we also had a fridge and a safe. the room was very hot during the night. the breakfast was buffet and had lots of fruits and the usual fried items with lovely scrambled eggs. the hotel is next to a large shopping centre and close to the town centre. we had a problem with the barrier at when leaving but the lovely receptionist came over and scanned it for us so that we could get out. the carpark is free to residents.we will be returning

Room Tip: all the high floor rooms have a view of the river boyne or the town centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaEnniskillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a really enjoyable visit to the DHotel Drogheda. It is located on the river and you can walk along the boardwalk from the Hotel to a footbridge that brings you accross the river to the town on your doorstep, where you can see the many historic sights including Laurences Gate. Shopping is catered for literally adjoining the hotel in the Scotch Hall Shopping Centre so you don't even have to worry about getting wet. The staff were friendly and helpful and the adjoining Pub/Restaurant had great character with actual Beano annuals as menus.
Drogheda is a great historic town with a lot to offer and we found the local pubs and restaurants to be really authentic and friendly. Tourist attractions such as Oldbridge Battle of the Boyne site and Newgrange are only on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view - it adds a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice stay in the D Hotel Friday last. Comfy beds. Spotless. Free parking outside the door. Complimentary papers at reception a very nice touch. Could have done with more cover on reception probably because its just s very popular spot. Must say I loved Drogheda wit some fantastic restaurants and all those shops ....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mullaneannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband surprised me to a weekend away in the D Hotel for my birthday. We had stayed here before & loved it. He booked the Penthouse apartment & it was incredible... The room was hugh, great view over the river, king size cozy bed & lovely big bathroom. The room was so nice that we didn't want to leave so we ordered room service ( from WM Cairns) & a bottle of wine. Chicken wings, crab cakes & a platter of cured meats & cheese, everything was so good. We had a balcony overlooking the river so we sat out having a glass of wine with a great view. Go to the WM Cairns bar downstairs if you want a drink or a bit of food, also really busy with live music on Saturday nights. Great selection of craft beers as well which suited us & great value. We also got breakfast served to the room & it was great, such a brilliant selection of cereals, breads, juices & of course the fry-up - So tasty really enjoyed it. What an amazing weekend, will be back for the hotel, food & service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The D hotel is one of the best hotels i have stayed in within Ireland. Myself and my friends have attended numerous concerts in the TLT, Drogheda, and without question, our first choice of a hotel to stay in is always the D Hotel. The hotel situated in the town, with restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was very enjoyable. The price per room is reasonable and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in drogheda.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AislinnD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is well situated in the small town of Drogheda. The service is average but delivered with an Irish smile and engagement.
Rooms are fairly large and wifi is included which seemed to work very well.
The breakfast is very basic but sufficient. Dinner/bar menues are OK and comes with cold drafts in many variants.
The d is an improvement to the portfolio of Drogheda hotels, but can work on giving that little extra for a business hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
251 reviews
6.3 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
13.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing