We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Anywhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hotel is in a good location, close to downtown, on the river, easy access, but the hospitality is horrible. Our room was small and unkept. Yeah, the decor is modern, but not very functional. The place is all fluff and no substance. The restaurant, bring a sandwich. Booked for three nights, left after one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddieob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in the d hotel in august. when we arrived at hotel we were given our room straight away.staff very friendly. Rooms was on 5th floor,very spacious and clean .Rooms were very warm found it very hard to sleep at night.We travel with 2 children and the kids enjoy the kids club. The woman over the club was very friendly and nice . The only down fall of the hotel was restaurant was booked up on the nite we were given a treasury box as our table with couches around it for 8 people to eat at it.No room even to put our plate on it.food was only ok. The hotel is close to everything and good location

Room Tip: 5th floor had no noise at nite which is good if you have kids with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night on room only basis. The room was on the 5th floor, very spacious with king size bed and a balcony which was locked for some reason. The tv was old and the program selection not great but this did not take away from the quality stay. The hotel is close to everything Drogheda has to offer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sead J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here for one night over the August Bank Holiday. The sole purpose was for shopping, so being right beside Scotch Hall couldn't be better! When we arrived (before 2pm) we were told that our room wasn't ready, but rather than keep us waiting they'd put us into another room and separate the beds. We went up and about 5 minutes later, housekeeping came in and sorted the bed. Room was really nice, beds were very comfortable. We asked reception if they could recommend somewhere for dinner and he said the hotel had a restaurant and there was a bar/grill restaurant attached to the hotel called Wm Cairnes. I would definitely recommend there for dinner.
Our breakfast was delivered to our room the next morning and it was delicious!
Everyone we dealt with in the hotel were really nice and helpful, I would definitely recommend this and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is our 4th stay at the D and each time it has been faultless. We booked on a 2 nite B&B and dinner deal and on arrival we were upgraded to one of the suites on the 6th floor. This room was amazing and absolutely massive! Dinner was great and the staff were excellent, especially our waitress but unfortunately I can't remember her name! We also went for a few drinks in the bar after which had a great live band on called The Enemies. When we decided to head on, my wife's wedding braclet had unhooked itself without either of us noticing. As we were leaving one of the waitresses came running over to hand it back to us. We probably wouldn't have noticed until later but it was so great to see such attentive staff! The new adjoining bar, WM Cairnes is a great addition and definitely worth a visit for a few of the house beers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Im_a_happy_camper41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Good value for money, good staff and excellent hotel. Well located close to the city centre. Rooms are spacious and clean. This was a busy weekend at the hotel but did not effect the quality of staff service. Try Drogheda for a change you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Arrived @ hotel no booking made, just arrived on route home with husband and 4 chuildren. We booked 2 rooms next door to each other 1 with cot (which was broke). Rooms are very spacious and clean. There is a fan in each and believe me they are a necessary. Was impressed that by the time we took our luggage in the cot had been made up. Any staf we encountered were friendly. The beds are extremely hard to lie on....

We had a meal in the Gastro pub it was delicious.

Breakfast in the morning was poor. Yoghurt was warm as was the fresh fruit selection they were left at room temp.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christyghirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
262 reviews
18.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
6.3 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: $85 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing