We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed at the D Hotel for a friend's wedding and were very satisfied. The bed were very comfortable with great pillows. The food was very good and the service was excellent. It is a very pleasant short walk into the town of Drogheda. Much to do in the area including many golf courses. We would return for another stay!

Room Tip: Stay on the river side for a grea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose1p50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for posting your positive comments on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is essential to us as we improve the service and facilities we offer all guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    370
    155
    88
    71
See reviews for
285
441
32
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Spend one night in the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good. The room was a decent size and had a fridge.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for posting your positive comments on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is essential to us as we improve the service and facilities we offer all guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
452 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

1st time in the D Hotel and Drogheda, I emailed the hotel first for information, and the response was quick and professional. Hotel is excellently placed, right by a shopping centre and near all the pubs and restaurants, and lovely views over the Boyne.Think we were lucky enough to get upgraded so had a lovely room with a balcony, very good value for money, and nice touches from the management, we hope to be back again in the near future and would have no hesitation in using the D Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for posting your positive comments on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is essential to us as we improve the service and facilities we offer all guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel and Drogheda in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmeath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The D Hotel is situated about a 10 minute walk from the train station, and was a little difficult to find (although the website does warn of this). Check in was quick, friendly and efficent. My room was quite nice - reasonably spacious, and very clean - the only minor niggle I had was that it was decorated entirely in cream & white - I thought a flash of colour in artwork, cushion covers or maybe a throw on the bed would have been nice. The bathroom was a nice size, and again, spotlessly clean. However, ther were some stains beside my bed, and in spite of leaving a note for the cleaners asking for the stains to be cleaned, in the evening when I came back, the stains remained :-( . I had a river view, although this was somewhat spoilt by a rather dilapidated carpark, but one of the girls later explained that development on the carpark had to stop when ancient relics were uncovered. Quality of sleep was very good - the hotel was quiet, but I stayed on a Wednesday & Thursay night, so maybe I got lucky. One niggle was that there was no electricity socket beside the bed, so if you needed to keep a laptop or mobile charging whilst using it, you just couldn't.

As for the food, I found it excellent - I had dinner on both nights of my stay in the hotel. there was a 3 course menu choice for my dinner, B & B package deal, which was nice, as in a lot of hotels you are limted to 2 courses. The duck on the first night was well cooked, and the desserts are to die for! The rump of lamb on the second night was really tough though - and trying to cut into it, I spattered my top with the gravy - I did complain about this as the top is dry clean only, and I'm the one out of pocket. The waitress (who was a lovely girl) explained that the rump is a tough cut of meat, but in that case, they should source better quality produce! I also noticed that I was offered no discount off the meal, in spite of the complaint. Breakfasts on both days (both by room service) were lovely - the full Irish was nice, but I definetly reccomend the Eggs Benedict, which was heavenly! I did not have lunch in the hotels on either day, so cannot comment.
The whole hotel seemed very clean and well managed - I think the vending machines for soft drinks, etc are a good idea, espcially if you have kids. Unfortunately, a drink I purchased from the machines was totally flat and lukewarm, due to a problem with the machine, but when I mentioned it, the manager did see to it that the company were there the next morning,fixing the problem. All the staff seemed very well trained, and they were really lovely.....a special word of thanks to Amanda in reservations, who has endless patience, and gave me a great deal!

The Scotch Hall shopping centre is right next door, and is fabulous, and the town a 5 minute walk away. Drinks in the hotel are reasonably priced - no dearer than anywhere else. Check out also went very smoothly. Its a shame that theres no spa in the hotel - I would have loved a treatment!! Staff will reccomend somewher local, but its hard for the salon to fit you in a a days notice, and sometimes you just want to have your treatment in the hotel itself, and unwind in your room/the bar/pool afterwards!!

All in all, a lovely hotel, and I will be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for posting your positive comments on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and essential in ensuring we improve the service and facilities we offer all guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Rooms were just about a 2or3 star decor was.sparse,tired,also duvet cover too small for duvet, leaving about 10inches of grubby, stained duvet hanging out the end.Dirty balcony with cobwebs,rusty rails and dotted with old ,dried bird droppings, nightmare with children.!!!!!
Food was nice in dining room.The hotel lounge was comfortable together with a nicely heated outdoor area to enjoy a drink by the river. However on the Saturday we found that the lounge,the outdoor seating area and the foyer were all out of bounds for residents due to a wedding.We were permitted to have a drink or food in a dim, stale smelling area upstairs which the chose to call the Mezzanine,not to be recommended as it by no stretch of the imagination as it didn't even slightly resemble a hotel lounge especially a four star hotel lounge.We saw nobody sitting in the foyer during the night yet residents were not permitted to sit there, Perhaps two of at least six outdoor tables were occupied by a hand full of wedding guest. yet again hotel guests were not permitted to use any of them. The Management were so busy with this wedding, they were far from welcoming to regular hotel guest. We were told in advance that breakfast and diner would be served in the mezzanine but at no stage were we told that we would not be permitted to use any of the regular hotel facilities at any time on the Saturday.I feel that as guests we were charged extra for the night in question because it was a saturday where in-fact we should have been charged less as there were a lot less facilities open to us. Having previously read such good reviews we were most disappointed and feel that the likelihood is that none of these guests stayed when there was a wedding on.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank irenekenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your feedback received. Please accept our apologies that there were cleanliness issues in your bedroom and balcony, I trust that this was dealt with immediately when brought to our attention.

Please accept our apologies that you were informed that you could not sit in the foyer, this was incorrect as the area was only reserved for the wedding arrival drinks. Hotel guests were more than welcome to use the four outdoor tables and chairs beside reception, unfortunately the other area was reserved for wedding guests.

Please accept our apologies that you found the management far from welcoming to regular hotel guests, Kevish our Duty Manager was solely responsible for the Mezzaninne level that you were in, as this area was quiet on the night in question I am disappointed that you did not feel he or our Front Office Manager who was on reception were welcoming.

We have numerous weddings and special events throughout the year on the ground floor and like you said we do inform guests in advance that the food and beverage facilities will be served in our mezzanine level, we also note this in our confirmation emails and on our website and at reception and in our lifts over the weekend, based on your feedback we will clarify this in further detail to guests. We are also just about to start construction of a restaurant adjoining the hotel and this should provide an alternative dining experience when we are holding weddings etc. in future.

Please accept our apologies once again for the cleanliness issues you encountered and for the disappointment that you felt in regard to our communications with you in regard to Saturday night. I hope that we can welcome you back to the d hotel in the near future and have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the d hotel.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have stayed here quite a few times and the hotel and service are consistently good. Rooms are always spotless and check out is fast.
The last time I stayed, I had the Fillet Steak which was really good, with chunky home made chips, and a béarnaise sauce. This was expensive enough, but there are lots of options on 3 course meal deals etc. that seem great value. House red wine was nice too, and a decent selection of beers at the bar.
On the few sunny evenings udring the year it’s nice to sit out beside the river for a few creamy pints of Guinness underneath the heated parasols.
Breakfast service can sometimes be a bit hit and miss . . . there’s always a few stragglers wondering what the “system” is. It's not clear for new guests where or how you order hot food an/or tea and coffee.
Staff are always efficient and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boxty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for regularly staying at the d hotel and for posting your positive comments on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is essential to us as we improve the service and facilities we offer all guests.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Just back from hen weekend at this hotel & it was very memorable.
Great staff, especially Connor the duty manager, who went more than beyond the call of duty for our party!
The food was fantastic & their light bites were excellent value at 2 courses for €12 & the portions were BIG! they even organised packed lunches for us because we didn't think we wud be ready for lunch before our trip to the farm.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for posting your positive feedback in regard to the hen weekend you spent in the d hotel Drogheda. Your feedback is essential to us as we improve the service and faciilities we offer all guests.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
248 reviews
18.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
6.3 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing