We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveler rating
188
172
114
47
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
188
172
114
47
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boyne valley steam room tennis courts leisure facilities lovely grounds lovely hotel great weekend staff were so friendly old world charm breakfast room few drinks food was lovely breakfast was excellent from start to finish dublin airport town centre tayto park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 575 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Would highly recommend this hotel staff are so pleasent & friendly
We had a beautiful refurbished room,everything was beautiful.
Breakfast is cooked to order, beautiful, piping hot, lovely pleasent friendly staff. We had lunch in the bar, again freshly made sandwiches, really beautiful. Bar needs a bit of attention, im sure they will get to it.We walked the beautiful grounds, it was a beautiful sunny weekend, beautiful garden furniture to sit and have a nice cold drink,we had a beautiful meal in the restaurant in the evening that was included in our package. Reception staff could not have being more helpful, so pleasent everyone of them.
WELL DONE ALL AT BOYNE VALLEY
WE WILL BE BACK
Collette & Paul Kavanagh

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank DublinCollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBoyneValley, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Hi DublinCollette

thank you for your 5 STAR review and terrific recommendation.

We love reading reviews like this and and are delighted you will be back.

Looking forward to welcoming you back,
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

Beautiful hotel, lovely location a short distance south of Drogheda Town Centre. Long tree-lined driveway up to an extended historic house. Lovely big, well-maintained gardens with seating for guests. Bar is located as part of a very pretty conservatory with access to the garden. Many rooms are already renovated recently, and work is ongoing. Choice of decor might not suit everyone perhaps - a lot of shiny scarlet and black, with textured bark-effect wallpaper in the hallways, but the rooms are comfortable and generally well-equipped. . No safe in the room. This is a standard feature in most hotels, whatever opinion you might have about their effectiveness. Better to have one than not, I think. No air-con and the room was remarkably hot on a mild spring day.The leisure centre has seen better days, presumably renovations are planned, the pool area has had work done, but the male changing rooms are tired to put it mildly. Staff are mostly friendly, helpful & agreeable. Breakfast was very good - served from the kitchen, not self-service - a pleasant, welcome rarity these days. I would very much recommend this hotel. The rates seem very good at the moment, I presume they'll rise when works are complete.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fourcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBoyneValley, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Hi fourcourt

thank you for your detailed 4 STAR review.

I need to look again at how we are advising guest about the heating controls in the bedrooms because yours is the second comment recently about the bedrooms being over heated, which can be unpleasant.

I am delighted you enjoyed our freshly cooked breakfasts and thank you for your strong recommendation,

We look forward to welcoming you back,
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

Set in a beautiful setting which offers peace and tranquility this hotel is ideal if peace and quiet is important to you.

I stayed for two nights in room 108 which was accessible to people with a disability. Very comfortable bed and a great sized bathroom. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

My only minor complaint is that the heating was on full blast and it made the place a bit uncomfortable.

The food in the restaurant was very good. Breakfast was freshly cooked and a great start to the day.

I would happily return here.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank richardM4463EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBoyneValley, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Hi richardM4463EB,

thank you for your 4 STAR review.

I am sorry we did not deal with the heating issue in your bedroom while you were here. There is a thermostat in the room where one can adjust the heating setting or indeed one can turn the radiator off.

More importantly, we are here to help and I regret we did not solve this for you while you were here.

Please do return and we look forward to welcoming you back
thank you
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Really enjoyed our recent trip. Great atmosphere and facilities. Excellent attentive,friendly staff. A warm welcome at reception. Really lovely food at breakfast and in the bar. We will plan another trip soon again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank caggieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBoyneValley, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Hi caggieIreland

We loved your 5 STAR review, thank you.

Hospitality is what we do and I am delighted you found us to be warmly welcoming.

I’ll make sure the kitchen team see you comment about their really lovely breakfast food; it is terrific to have this feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back,
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

Based ourselves recently in the Boyne Valley Hotel knowing zero about the Drogheda area , choose it over the others due to the free parking & good offer. It was a great base as Ireland’s ancient east has so much to see. We enjoyed our stay , food was very good , staff friendly & rooms spotless (maybe a bit hot especially bathroom but it’s not like too much time spent in the bathroom :)) the gardens are really beautiful & a lovely peaceful place to sit under the trees in the Sun . Fabulous cherry blossoms in bloom along the long driveway to hotel. Would stay again if in the area .

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank leroyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBoyneValley, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Hi leroyrox

Thank you for your 5 STAR recommendation.

Ireland’s ancient Boyne Valley is packed full of rich cultural heritage perhaps most significantly Newgrange (which predates the pyramids).

I love the cherry blossoms and enjoy a stroll under their canopy of an evening.

Your compliments about the team and hotel are much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back,
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews