We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
“Horrific”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Nothing good to say about this kip. Overpriced booking, rude staff on check in with long wait (how hard can it be to check what room and get a key?) old outdated room with mould in the bathroom, horrible bed with sheets that look like they haven't been updated since the 70's. I mentioned all this to the manager eoin, all he offered was an apology and no solution at all. Terrible place, best avoided.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    135
    97
    47
    47
See reviews for
141
142
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I left my swim wear and tooth brush charger in room when we left . My husband rung and was told lost property was binned .I rang back as this was not acceptable and was told my property would be posted to me. It has been 6 weeks now and no one seems to know what happened to my property .I have been passed around between Damien and laura and monica , been told I would be rung back which has not happened . This experience has put me off ever staying at the hotel again . Our room was also dirty with mould on shower curtain

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Drogheda hotels

Blackrock, Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is a pretty much it does what it says on the tin type hotel, we paid €69 to stay here on a Friday night for a wedding which is pretty good value for what you get.

What we got was a nice enough room, old in style but very well kept and exceptionally clean, we had a view looking out to the nice gardens to the rear of the hotel and a safe is included in the room, we didn't utilse the TV in the room but it was an old style TV and not a nice modern flat screen that I personally think should be standard in all hotels in 2013, the only other complaint about the room was that while trying to lie in the next morning the noise from the room next door was far too easily heard but to be expected from an old building, otherwise the room was pretty good for €69.

The grounds of the hotel are pretty nice, with the weather being so good the garden to the rear is a nice place to be and they have some outside seating to make use of when eating or having a few drinks, the reception and bar area are also pretty nice in themselves, there was some empty bottles left discarded throughout the grounds though that look like they had been there quiet a while so perhaps the grounds should be cleaned on a more regular basis but nothing that detracted too much from the niceness of the area in general.

As I mentioned we were here for a wedding and therefore sampled the food through the wedding meal and it was not possible to fault the food at all, everything was presented nicely and was very nice, portions were also huge for a wedding meal. I would imagine the restaurant and bar food are just as nice.

Check in and check out was pretty straight forward although we didn't get any information about the hotel or where in the hotel the wedding was taking place without asking.

We didn't have breakfast the next morning and did not make use of any of the leisure facilities so cannot comment on them.

Overall the hotel was a great venue for a wedding, providing excellent food, good bar services and even allowed the band to play outside in the sun, the room was nice and clean and the hotel itself is relatively nice.

I would reccomend it for short budget stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for a Birthday party being held on site which was handy! Check in was smooth. Room was a bit pokey, like a travel lodge. Gardens were lovely. Pool was good for a swim and being made to wear a bathing cap was a first. We had a meal on site which was in what seemed like a cellar. I liked the location and taxis were always coming and going and easy to get. A pint of the black stuff in the garden is recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnniepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked the Boyne Valley Hotel & Country House as a birthday present for my partner as he would be very keen regarding Leisure facilities. We arrived at the hotel at lunch time on Wednesday 3rd July 2013. The young receptionist slid our key cards across the desk, didn't inform us where our room was nor did she let us know anything about the hotel / bar / restaurant / leisure facilities.

When we eventually found our room (215) we were greeted by a disgusting cream carpet, splash marks up the walls, a bed spread that was terribly outdated, stained bed sheets, stained towels & a TV that looked like it was from the 80's.

On the morning we were due to checkout it took an HOUR before we finished breakfast as we were left sitting for 30minutes before anyone came to take our order. The reason? "Oh, I thought the other girl had taken your order already" - Disgraceful!!!

However, I would like to commend the Leisure staff and the Bar staff within the hotel. We had a brilliant time using the swimming pool/sauna/steam room and had a lovely inexpensive meal in the bar - although this does not make up for the terrible customer service we recieved from reception and the state of the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KazBra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I appreciate the kind remarks about the staff in the bar and the leisure center. I am very disappointed to read about the welcome you received and your comments about the room and breakfast service. Please be assured that I have brought your comments to the attention of our Rooms Division Manager and Food & Beverage Manager. I will ensure that immediate corrective action is taken.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for the fantasia package on arrival to the hotel the pathway driving down is full of potholes which I had to try and avoid the whole way down I'm surprised no one has damaged their tyres, the hotel is very old but I like this kind of period feel although I agree with rest if reviewers the rooms really could do with an update. We had a connecting room for the children and their toilet seat was broke which was downright dangerous I mentioned this to reception staff and the camp bed had wooden slots broke the rooms otherwise were spotlessly clean, breakfast consisted of cereal fruit and toast they only offered full fat milk as I asked for semi skimmed milk for cereal and was informed it was only full fat, we got full Irish breakfast and twice we found a hair on the sausage and bacon a long black one all of us have blonde hair! I feel this was a complete let down do the kitchen staff not wear hair nets? We ate that evening in a restaurant down the road from the hotel and the food was amazing and the staff were so helpful and pleasant would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehill288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your constructive review. Please be assured that we will work hard to rectify all the areas that you highlighted need improvement.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Recently went to a function at The Boyne valley,the room was disgusting,iron broke,room outdated (by 50 years),the bath ha mould on it,carpet and drapes were disgusting,I stayed in rooms 30,32 and 34 as my children were with us.Everything other than the garden (which the outside lighting were mostly broken and bulbs missing) was outdated,Disgusting and I honestly would have rather stayed in a tent.The rooms for value was poor at €85 per night.I really doubt there is maintenance personnel in the hotel as I'm involved in hotel maintenance and if there is than they should be ashamed,as well as the GM.The only good thing I can say about the hotel is that we were still alive when leaving

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maintenance-manager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would appreciate if you could contact me directly about this review. We have no record of any complaint of this nature from any guest attending a function. Our rooms and grounds are most certainly old however they are maintained and cleaned to the highest standard. I find this review highly suspicious as there are no specific details included.
I am happy to accept any constructive feedback however this is not constructive in the least.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
1.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
342 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
250 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
782 reviews
5.3 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Property: Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing