We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We attended a wedding here and stayed for two nights.
This hotel is in an excellent location with lovely gardens and a river.
It is a lovely old house with a wing added.
The wedding was good with very good food and of course not surprising the bar food and restaurant food was excellent. You can get a main course and a drink/glass of wine for €10 (Amazing for a hotel like this). The house wine is a very good choice but I would like to see a little more upmarket wines on the list.
The leisure centre is also very good.
Overall we really enjoyed staying here, it was great value, the food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have built an excellent reputation locally for good food and I am delighted to receive such public confirmation of this.
We do offer very good value mid-week with our treats for ten offer which allows you to order one of our specials along with a drink of your choice for only €10.
We are currently updating our wine menu so I hope that if you ever have the opportunity to stay with us again that the list will include some wines that will be to your liking.
Again thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed the wedding and the rest of your stay.
Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 445 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

After reading mixed reviews I wanted to love this hotel but I'm afraid I would be reluctant to recommend it to anyone. It looks beautiful as you approach it from the road, old world charm and elegance in a leafy setting but actually staying there was a whole other ball game.

Contrary to other reviews our room was clean and modern (in the newer part of the hotel) and cleanliness in general wasn't an issue during our stay. Unfortunately most other aspects of our stay were less positive. The bed was like stone and the room was oppressively hot, though we could not find the radiator to try and reduce the heat. On arrival we ordered drinks and bar food - the spirits with mixers neither smelled nor tasted like they had any spirits in them but we were happily charged full price for the beverages by the bar staff. The bar food was disappointing - well presented but lacking any flavour. Undeterred we returned for breakfast next morning which was really poor. We arrived an hour before the end of breakfast to find most of the buffet foods (cereals, breads, pastries etc.) depleted and these were not replenished at all, despite our enquiries. From ordering the hot food it was well over 30 minutes until it arrived and it was not worth the wait - overcooked, greasy and pretty unpleasant. There were some more 'demanding' diners ordering breakfast items not on the menu which may have contributed to the delay, but even so the fact that someone would like pancakes should not mean everyone else has to wait.

The only plus points for this hotel are the staff (all of whom were lovely, breakfast servers included) and the potential it has to be a charming hotel. Sadly it falls way short of this potential and if you're planning a nice getaway in pleasant and comfortable surroundings, this is not the place for you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to apologise sincerely for our shortcomings during your stay. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments concerning our staff.
We are constantly striving to provide a consistently high standard for all our guests. This was not the case during your stay. Please be assured that I have brought this review to the attention of the management team and corrective actions have been taken to ensure that the issues you mention do not re occur.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your constructive review.

Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had booked & paid for a weekend in this hotel but left after the first night. On arrival we were placed in a grubby looking room, no 28. Although we were a family of four, the room was very small with a camp bed in front of the bathroom.....no room to swing a cat. Once I complained we were moved to 35/37 which was okay but had only one double bed between the four of us. Again I went to Reception and was assured this would be sorted. We were told in order to do this, we would need to leave the room, which we did. Once we sat down at the bar, we were once again approached to move our stuff to a different room, no 33. This had the correct bedding, but was very dated with a strong odour. To make the most of our time, we decided to try and enjoy our time...this was very difficult as thesmoking area was under our window. As there was a Wedding on and totally understable on the part of the smokers, it was extremely loud ( not including the music) and kept us all awake the best part of the night. Roll on day 2, we had a lovely breakfast and decided to go for a swim only to be told there were swimming lessons on and that we could not access the pool until after 12.30pm.......very upset children returned to the room!!! Went out for the day and took a dip later on. When we went back down to Reception, there was another Wedding & party on. It was at this point we realised it was a re-run of the previous night and we were better off at home....clean, comfortable & quiet. I would not recommend this hotel EVER!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGDG186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the mix up with your room on arrival. This should not have happened and I am very sorry that it did. Please be assured that we have since taken corrective action to ensure this does not re occur.

It is a hotel policy that any guest not associated with a function or wedding are allocated rooms that are not affected by noise from these functions. This did not happen on this occasion and again I apologise for this oversight.

I would appreciate if you could contact me directly so that I can compensate you for our errors during your stay.

Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Grand old house with more recent wing of rooms, a bit tired looking. Staff were friendly and the bar food was good and reasonably priced. The fitness facitities were excellent and the swimming pool was free on our midweek break. Room was clean and comfortable. Easy parking - hotel some distance from main road.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gucciman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I really appreciate the positive feedback and will ensure that this is passed onto all the staff.

Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we live in enniskillen and were going on to turkey but needed to stay near dublin airport so this is how we found this place.don't no were to start.room ok car park not safe as any one can drive in.the cheff say to me move your van from were you are as it not safe there how do's that make you feel.not safe on hotel grounds.i could go on and on. so called countery club setting as you drive in all you see pot holes so call drive and that's in day light.swimming pool is very poor want a face lift still in the old days and very dark. changing room very poor and no locks on any were. i been a round all over and i can't belive what my eyes was seeing need a good clean up.in the restaurant want go no and on wine warm.at the end we had to go to the reception to pay for our meal as no card machine. i dont have the time to keep writeing.feel sorry for the next couples and familys who go's there.rateing for us is poor poor needs lots of work

Room Tip: don't go better about very poor
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. I had difficulty understanding some of the points made. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly so that we can discuss your review in more detail.

Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from this hotel after a weekend with my daughter and 4 year old grand-daughter.
In a great location a few minutes out of town in lovely gardens, with plenty of room for a lively 4 year old to run around. The family room was a good size as was the bathroom (if a little dated - but spotlessly clean).
The staff were great - friendly and helpful and the food was excellent - good value and quality. After a long day at the nearby Tayto Fun Park (definately worth a visit) we had room service from the bar menu. It arrived quickly and was excellent.
Will definately return soon and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet as there is no road noise etc although if you want pretty views (ours overl...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that your review will be passed onto the staff who work so hard to ensure that all guests thoroughly enjoy their time with us.

Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 18 August what a wonderful hotel felt like i was staying in a stately house with lovely gardens and in a quiet area it was heaven Rooms were clean and spacious .The food was great and not expensive The staff were helpful and friendly ,good leisure center but be warned it closes at 7pm sat and sun .I really enjoyed my stay here

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
1.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
373 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
255 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
793 reviews
13.2 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: $88 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing