We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Spa and bar food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Ballymena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Spa and bar food”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Grand old house with more recent wing of rooms, a bit tired looking. Staff were friendly and the bar food was good and reasonably priced. The fitness facitities were excellent and the swimming pool was free on our midweek break. Room was clean and comfortable. Easy parking - hotel some distance from main road.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gucciman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I really appreciate the positive feedback and will ensure that this is passed onto all the staff.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    129
    94
    45
    47
See reviews for
133
137
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we live in enniskillen and were going on to turkey but needed to stay near dublin airport so this is how we found this place.don't no were to start.room ok car park not safe as any one can drive in.the cheff say to me move your van from were you are as it not safe there how do's that make you feel.not safe on hotel grounds.i could go on and on. so called countery club setting as you drive in all you see pot holes so call drive and that's in day light.swimming pool is very poor want a face lift still in the old days and very dark. changing room very poor and no locks on any were. i been a round all over and i can't belive what my eyes was seeing need a good clean up.in the restaurant want go no and on wine warm.at the end we had to go to the reception to pay for our meal as no card machine. i dont have the time to keep writeing.feel sorry for the next couples and familys who go's there.rateing for us is poor poor needs lots of work

Room Tip: don't go better about very poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. I had difficulty understanding some of the points made. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly so that we can discuss your review in more detail.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from this hotel after a weekend with my daughter and 4 year old grand-daughter.
In a great location a few minutes out of town in lovely gardens, with plenty of room for a lively 4 year old to run around. The family room was a good size as was the bathroom (if a little dated - but spotlessly clean).
The staff were great - friendly and helpful and the food was excellent - good value and quality. After a long day at the nearby Tayto Fun Park (definately worth a visit) we had room service from the bar menu. It arrived quickly and was excellent.
Will definately return soon and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet as there is no road noise etc although if you want pretty views (ours overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that your review will be passed onto the staff who work so hard to ensure that all guests thoroughly enjoy their time with us.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Donegal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 18 August what a wonderful hotel felt like i was staying in a stately house with lovely gardens and in a quiet area it was heaven Rooms were clean and spacious .The food was great and not expensive The staff were helpful and friendly ,good leisure center but be warned it closes at 7pm sat and sun .I really enjoyed my stay here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here August 4-7 and really enjoyed ourselves. We would have loved to give a higher rating, but the mold on the bathroom floor, the antiquated beds, and the cigarette smoke wafting through our window makes it a 3. Fortunately, the common spaces are quite clean. The food and staff are wonderful. Tony in the bar is a gem - very helpful and kind. The kids loved the space and the gym was terrific. The kids played tennis and we all had a wonderful time. Please though - give it a good cleaning - when I mentioned the mold in the bathroom to the front desk, she just looked at me like I was crazy.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking to stay on the outside rooms away from the courtyard. Don't know if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rovetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind comments about our staff and the food.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

i read reviews on this hotel so sent an email saying i would have 2 young children with me, 1 and 5, so please keep this in mind when allocating our room..and that i needed a cot for our 1yr old. i received an email back saying our family room is reserved and a cot will be provided. when we got to the hotel we were allocated room 34, first floor. as soon as we walked into room we were disappointed, it had a double bed & single bed,(in a double room) not the family room that it shows on the site with loads of space, mismatched bedspreads had holes in it, walls were dirty and stained, cobwebs everywhere, in the bathroom there are cracked tiles and the window was hanging off the hinges, straight away i tried to lock it as it wasnt safe for our children but it was broken and wouldnt lock! i went down to reception and was told house keeping would come up to lock it as there is a nack to it.. house keeping did come up but found that the window was in fact broken and no way could it lock, so we were allocated another room, 23, on ground floor,right next door to reception, this room had 2 double beds and looked cleaner than 34 but still in desperate need of paint job, and bathroom tiles need grouting as it looks awful, no window in this bathroom tho. we just left our bags in and brought the children to funtasia waterpark for the day which is only 5-10 min drive away.that night none of us could get any sleep with the noise of people coming from reception, and a constant dripping noise and noisy pipes.
breakfast in the hotel was lovely, we ordered full irish and it was really nice,staff were lovely. on checking out we were told we didnt have to pay for breakfast as we had to be moved to a different rooms. all in all, hotel just needs a bit of tlc

Room Tip: ask for room in the new part of hotel, avoid 23 and 34!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp8Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry about the issues you had with the room you were allocated. There is no excuse for rooms not being clean. I have brought your comments to the attention of our housekeeping staff. Please be assured that corrective action has been taken.
I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and I appreciate the kind comments you have made about our staff.

I would be delighted if you were to return to us to experience the continued improvements we are making. I would gladly handle your reservation personally.

Kind Regards

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Recently stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with my husband & two children...have to say it was an overall comfortable & relaxing stay.Yes the hotel might be slighty older than other hotels but thats what gives this hotel such character. The staff are extremely friendly,welcoming & very attentive. The food in both the restuarant & bar was very tasty & very good value for money. lots to choose from off both dinner menus. The outside gardens were a pleasure to walk round & considering we got nice weather made it even nicer. The girls in reception were very helpful when we asked about things to do for the childredn,they had oragnised tickets for us to go to the waterpark which the kids really enjoyed.would definetly go back to the Boyne Valley Hotel again .The atmosphere & staff made our stay all that more relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that your family enjoyed their stay with us so much. The hotel is extremely family friendly. We are in fact the only hotel in the vicinity that has its own leisure centre. We also are unique as we have beautiful grounds that children can run around and play in.

I am glad that the staff you encountered looked after you so well. We all work very hard to ensure our guest experience is a pleasant and relaxing one. It is great when we receive feedback that shows all the work is paying off.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
1.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,141 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.7 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
237 reviews
13.2 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,378 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Property: Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing