We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that good at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We arrived and had a generous welcome, but went down hill from there. We were on a package so our dinner was restricted. We could only pick from the 'deals' menu, we could not pick from the a la carte menu. Only 3 options per course....not enough if your picky! The restaurant was also closed so we had to eat in the bar. After we had showers the 1st evening, the towels were not replaced, and replacement shampoos were not provided. Also we booked out on the 2nd of august. On booking out we were using a best western travel card. When we gave in the card we were told that the hotel was no longer a best western since the 1st august. We had to go through head office to sort out payment. Overall the food was poor, and the service less than average.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 459 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Boyne Valley Hotel is a lovely 3 Star hotel. The location was ideal for me and was close to where I needed to be based. The hotel is situated on the Dublin Road. It is surrounded by beautiful grounds which makes you feel secluded and there is no noise from the main road.

The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Having free Wi-fi in the hotel is very convenient. I ate in the bar area one evening and the food was very tasty although the service was a little slow. The leisure centre has a good sized pool.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yddib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damienBVH, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Dear Customer

I would like to thank you most sincerely for your positive comments about your stay at the Boyne Valley hotel & Country Club.

We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future.

Kind regards

Catherine McGovern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the Boyne Valley on a Super Valu break and enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is in a wonderful location well back from the main road and in lovely grounds that are ideal for kids to play in. There is loads of parking.
Our room was fine. The reception staff were very helpful. We had dinner the first night in the bar and my food was very average. We didn't try the food in the restaurant.

The breakfast was the usual buffet breakfast you'd expect for a three star and it was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iduap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

With the mighty St Johnstone doing pre-season in Ireland we ended up having a three night stay at this hotel. We had a family room for me, my wife and our two toddlers (aged 13 and 10). The hotel was very comfortable, service was nothing short of excellent and the food was everything you'd expect from a good quality hotel (especially the full Irish breakfast). Although the building itself is maybe a wee bit tired around the edges, this in no way detracted from a very enjoyable stay. We're hoping Saints will head back over to the south again next year! Thanks again to everyone at Boyne Valley.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room number 12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saintferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

myself and my wife availed of a 2 night package deal. From the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome. the young man at the desk was very friendly and knowledgable about local amenaties and attractions. we ate in the conservatory over looking the hotels gardens on the first night and it was very nice. the leisure centre was real gem, Our room was of a good standard and the breakfast was lovely too. all and all a very good stay for the money we paid

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martink2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed with 8 adults and 3 kids for 2 nites - staff accomadated our rooms requests and were friendly and welcoming. One point we did book via website but called the hotel the next day to confirm as our 4 room requests did not appear on the online booking so best to call hotel to confirm arrangements.
Lovely staff breakfast and dinner in hotel were good and nice gardens with play facilities for kids all and all a lovely family break.

Room Tip: Call hotel after making online booking to confirm room requests as fault with online facility when b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belfastfamily17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The facilities were excellent, tennis courts, lounges, swimming pool etc. The rooms were large and comfortable. Plenty of choice at breakfast and the restaurant menu was excellent too with the food good quality and value for money. Had the Saturday BBQ special at 14.95 euros which included all you can eat salads, bbq and baked potatoes and enjoyed the live music too. Free wi-fi hotspots all through the hotel is a bonus.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. This hotel really is a credit to the Best Western brand name. Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank national1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
1.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,270 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
259 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
804 reviews
22.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: $109 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing