We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bia Cafe

Bia Cafe
Ranked #53 of 108 Restaurants in Drogheda
Cuisines: Cafe, Irish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Have been to bia twice in the last 6 months and have walke out of the cafe on both occasions having not been served. Sat in a very busy cafe on the first occasion for 35mins before a waitress came near us. They attended tables on each side of us but never even looked at us. After 35mins we went to the kitchen manager to complain and then walked out. The second time we went the cafe was by no means busy. There were 3 tables of customers with 2 waitresses working. After we sat for 15muns with our menus no waitress came over to take out order and again we left. I will never go back again. Staff are rude and don't care about their work.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tmdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    5
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ardee, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I went there last week with my friends. The food was absolutely lovely. The seating however isn't great. They seem to be worn out, they need to be resprung. I ended up in agony with a sore back for 4 days.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, awful service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The food here is great, their stir-fry menu is lovely. I have eaten here a lot, & in the past would have been a regular.
However, the staff there leave a lot to the imagination. The waitresses (one in particular) are rude. I ate here a week ago with a friend & had to clear a table ourselves. Waited 15 minutes to order, 35 minutes for our food - one of the dishes we could see under the heat lamp for 15 minutes - my order was wrong & the waitress didn't apologise, just tutted & took it away. The staff are awful, I won't be back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SKQ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Travel to Drogheda from further afield especially to eat at this little gem of a restaurant.It never fails to provide mouthwatering dishes;everything on the menu is to die for (the noodle dishes are particularly tasty). Food cooked in sight. Service is second to none. General atmosphere is warm and inviting. Great value for money also (the waitress will kindly give you a 'doggy bag' for leftovers). Highly recommend a visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharona1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Awkward to get to ,but always busy. So something makes people go out of there way, GOOD FOOD! The stir fries are very popular. Noodles are good. Dinner menu is on a board, and is always good value. Great bowl of soup and gorgeous brown bread. Only complaint, if its very busy, it can get smokey with cooking fumes. Then your clothes smell. They need bigger extractor fans. They do take-out too. Comes in American type boxes. No deliveries, sorry, you have to go get it. Worth a visit if your passing through Drogheda. They serve wine not sure about beer, they have a licence though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bia Cafe also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Bia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing