We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food”

Wm Cairnes & Son Gastropub
Ranked #36 of 112 Restaurants in Drogheda
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: International, Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chicken, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“nice food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here twice.The first time the service was ok but the Service was awful on my last trip.I did enjoy the food on both occasions but it took too long to be served last time. So I wont be in a hurry to go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    76
    56
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice for food. On both occasions the service has been very poor. Waiting staff don't seem to know what they're doing. Food is good tho. Great atmosphere when they have live music at night at the weekends. Just a pity about the service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tmdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food was good but the wait staff seemed overworked”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner. This restaurant is connected to the lobby of The d Hotel. Both the bar and restaurant are very nice. Good atmosphere and whatnot. The food was also very good. Only problem, and it was a big one, was the staff seemed very overworked. They were running everyplace and you had to battle for their attention. Ordering food, drinks, getting the table cleared or the check, etc., it all required asking two or three times. The staff was very polite and friendly once you had their attention but they clearly were trying to do more than they should be.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgeorgejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Met family there from the UK, Waiting staff not very pleasant at all. We had to ask a couple of times for the menu's ended up waiting about 15 mins for same. Food was ordered was pretty good. Again the service staff let the place down, after 30 mins of finishing the main we had to ask for the table to be cleared. We had to ask four times for the bill eventually on the fifth time i had to get up and look for someone to get same. The only reason the place is getting a 2 off me is the Service is Very poor and really lets the place down. Will not be going back, this has been a few times this has happened to me there and i gave them a few chances but never again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drogheda
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had a great meal here”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner with friends here last fri night for a friends birthday, had a lively experience and we were very well looked after... One particular staff named Ciaran was mire than helpful we even got a free drink for her birthday!!!!! Would def recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mileser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wm Cairnes & Son Gastropub also viewed

 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Wm Cairnes & Son Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing