We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Gardens and Car Collection”

Beaulieu House and Gardens
Ranked #5 of 28 things to do in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beaulieu is a C17th unfortified house, built by the Titchburnes and still lived in by descendants of this family. 400 years of family history entwine with local historical events, including the Flight of the Earls, the Siege of Drogheda and the Battle of the Boyne. A walled garden, with borders and symmetrical gravel paths, dating from the early C18th, is especially lovely to walk round May-September.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gardens and Car Collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We went as a group of friends and really enjoyed the day. The house is very personal and not at all like a museum. take the private tour if you can!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank businesswoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
County Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very informative and interesting guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Well worth a visit to learn some more about Irish and Drogheda's history, the house and gardens were interesting and the guide excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank okitoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathfriland, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Easy to find from Drogheda. We followed the road along the river. Set in lovely grounds. Large rambling walled garden. Wooded area and old churchyard with unusual stone carvings on church walls. The car collection was small but varied with lots of interesting history detailing Gabriel's any rallying exploits. The highlight was the house tour - in particular our tour guide, Mr Bailie. He rought the old house and its family history to life.his narrative was detailed, knowledgeable and engaging. We stayed far longer than we expected to. A very enjoyable day out!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This place I have been fascinated by since I was a kid and we use to go across the road to the woods for a picnic. This is a fabulous house, the gardens are beautiful and if you are lucky you might see the vintage cars out back. Great history to this place and the tour is interesting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great old House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This amazing old house is set on the banks of the river Boyne in an idyllic location. The house captures the life of the country gentry and shows off all the splendour that came with living and owning such a fabulous big house.
It is served by Bus Eireann route 189 which will drop you at the main gate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaulieu House and Gardens also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Beaulieu House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing