We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one sunday just heard about you and always forgot you where there although i pass by it most weekends i”

Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 109 Restaurants in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Scholars Townhouse Hotel restaurant is an award winning 2AA rosette restaurant. Proving modern Irish cuisine with International influence of todays culture in Ireland.
monasterboice
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one sunday just heard about you and always forgot you where there although i pass by it most weekends i”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

one sunday on coming back from a trade fare in dublin i was looking for a place to have a nice meal after a hard days work on a sunday, we looked at different resturants on the way back none to our fancy after reading many menu's i very fancy we came upon scholars that i had seen many time and thought i must visit but never got round to it, im so sorry i never did as the food and service was subperb ,its not young and funky but class decor from times gone by that the quality of the atmosphere,food and service outway things in the city,when asked by my husband,family were i would like to go for my birthday this was my choice,not only for myself but also for my childeren that eat in to many up market/over priced resturants in dublin and don,t realise the quality and service that is round here

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    81
    31
    25
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Delicious Christmas Feast”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Ate here with some family over Christmas, the set menu was marked up slightly during the festive season but the selection of courses was varied and interesting.

Starters were generous and tasty, of note was the salmon gravalax and beetroot and goats cheese salad. Mains were all perfectly cooked with rare venison and duck and a nicely cooked sirloin steak. Deserts were delicious and wines were very fairly priced.

Having eaten in many restaurants in the area, Scholars is definitely up there in the top 4-5 in and around Drogheda. Service was excellent and staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpmcg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I love this place. I have taken to eating in the bar nearly once a week in the past few months and enjoy each vist more and more especially at Christmas time as they have the Hotel beautifully decorated. The atmosphere in the bar is really lovely for either a casual drink and bite to eat or a you can have a more formal a la carte dining exprience in the restaurant for a special occassion. I myself prefer the bar as it is more relaxed and you can avail of the a la Carte menu if you desire to do so. The service is always exceptional with waiting staff extremely professional and very well turned out. I have dined at this restaurant with small children, husband and friends and on each occassion I have been treated exceptionally well by the staff and the food has been consistently good with a varied menu. If you are visiting Drogheda this restaurant is one of the better ones so give it a go and I promise you will come back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank O D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bar Meals”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Had Lunch and supper in the bar - was as good as being in the restaurant - reasonably priced, relaxed atmosphere. Delicious sandwiches and soup at lunch - warm bread, Thai Curry in evening just right!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo2012717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkMcGowan, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
It is great to get a review for the Lounge area. The food that is served to the lounge is high end gastro and we take as much pride in the food in the lounge as we do in the restaurant.

Regards

Mark Mc Gowan
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Perfect for a real treat”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The food is wonderful, just don't fill up too much on the homemade bread which is lovely as you need to leave room for dessert

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amtjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkMcGowan, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. You are right about the breads too much and you will miss out on a lovely dessert. We are glad everything was ok for you on the night.

Kind Regards

Mark Mc Gowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing