We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth Going Back”
Review of Monasterboice Inn

Monasterboice Inn
Ranked #8 of 121 Restaurants in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had a very disappointing meal last year but decided to call in on way from Dublin this week.
We made a booking and asked for a window seat. Unfortunately the lady that received us did not look at our request and attempted to take us into another part of the restaurant. Not a good start! Well we both ordered fillet steaks , mine as part of a surf and turf. No disappointment here . cooked to our liking. The only part of the meal that was poor was the pepper sauce , thick and quite bland! The service was ok but steaks did take a while to come out. We both enjoyed the food , atmosphere does tend to be lacking !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for coming back after 1 year. We are grateful you gave us another chance to look after you. We value your custom and your feed back, and will investigate the pepper sauce served on Friday. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 326 of 432 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Called in today with family for a quiet midweek dinner. Plenty of tables occupied so expected a high standard of food, given how remote the location has become due to motorways. Our waitress was very pleasant and accommodating, however this was unfortunately the highlight of the meal as the food itself was beyond bland. I ordered a breaded breast of chicken in a peppercorn sauce, while my fellow diners ordered turkey and ham and lamb. Our meals arrived within ten minutes of having placed our order - an indication that they weren't cooked from scratch (although I concede that we did visit during the lunchtime rush). While the vegetables were palatable, they were nothing spectacular - I could've cooked something similar or better at home. The chicken, however, was a major disappointment - dried out, stringy and clearly kept warm in an oven for an hour or two. The frugal portion of peppercorn sauce was slightly congealed, and lacked flavour.
My fellow diners had no major complaints - and to be fair, the presentation was decent and the surroundings were spotless - but we did agree that the restaurant is overpriced for the standard and selection of food it offers - typical pub grub that fills you up but does little else. Highlight was, again, the service - if the food was on a par with it, I could understand what all the fuss was about...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank DiningDiva2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for your valued review, I'm sorry you were disappointed with the chicken, had you made us aware that you were unhappy, we could have changed it for you straight away.
We do, in fact, roast the turkey and the lamb in the morning as it would not be possible to cook them to order.
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and thank you for your comments, which we will take on board going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

do not understand why people still flock to this place,the food is not great you would get better in a small cafe or takeaway very disappointing and a bit too expensive for what you get,the best thing about this place is the staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank shazy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, I am sorry you were disappointed, if you come again please let us know, as I would be delighted to talk to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic meal and service. Heaps of good food and really well done.

I had the surf and turf - a great piece of steak cooked perfectly and some delicious prawns.

The place was packed and we had to wait to get in, but this was managed brilliantly too.

After some very disappointing meals in Ireland this was a great way to finish our trip.

Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you like a good steak and have a good appetite then this restaurant is a must. It is located on the old N1 road which is now bypassed by a morotway but watch out for the signs. Real country eating was the way it was described to us and maybe built on on the needs of those who worked the land and needed a real good helping after a hard days work. The setting is also good, bit oldie world and the staff are friendly and make you feel at home. It was pretty busy when we were there which I believe is normal and the staff seemed well used to coping with it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monasterboice Inn also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Monasterboice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing