We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at good prices”
Review of Monasterboice Inn

Monasterboice Inn
Ranked #9 of 112 Restaurants in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Trim
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Lovely home cooked food served in comfortable surroundings by friendly and helpful staff. My elderly mother loves it!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mudgie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    99
    51
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best steaks around”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Relaxed atmosphere with large portions and certainly the best steaks served in the area. Under no pressure to leave when the meal finished and staff are very friendly

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morgankierans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Essential to book otherwise you could wait sometime for a table. Service can be a little slow but if you say you are in a hurry the staff will make sure you get your order through in good time. Excellent scampi and steak. We have been here many times and have never had a poor meal. Definitely worth the detour.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charaxes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best seafood around”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have been here many times. Never had a bad meal. Just reserve a table if you are planning to eat there on a Weekend. The Seabass and Scampi is to die for

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardee, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't go!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have been to this restaurant many times and always enjoyed good food, however today I had the worst food that has ever been served to me in a restaurant. Cattle market comes to mind regarding the wait for a table, finally got our table and had to wait 10 mins before I could get attension of waiter to order drinks. Starters were good, however both fillet steaks which were ordered medium were overcooked to a standard they were almost inedible! Dessert (sherry trifle) dry sponge with raspberry jam and 4 pieces of tinned fruit and drissle of custard!!! Actually laughable at how bad it was!!!service was awful. Gone to the dogs from what I experienced

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank XxEmma-LouXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monasterboice Inn also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Monasterboice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing