We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steaks around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monasterboice Inn

Monasterboice Inn
Ranked #10 of 108 Restaurants in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best steaks around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Relaxed atmosphere with large portions and certainly the best steaks served in the area. Under no pressure to leave when the meal finished and staff are very friendly

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank morgankierans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    86
    47
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Essential to book otherwise you could wait sometime for a table. Service can be a little slow but if you say you are in a hurry the staff will make sure you get your order through in good time. Excellent scampi and steak. We have been here many times and have never had a poor meal. Definitely worth the detour.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charaxes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best seafood around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have been here many times. Never had a bad meal. Just reserve a table if you are planning to eat there on a Weekend. The Seabass and Scampi is to die for

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardee, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't go!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have been to this restaurant many times and always enjoyed good food, however today I had the worst food that has ever been served to me in a restaurant. Cattle market comes to mind regarding the wait for a table, finally got our table and had to wait 10 mins before I could get attension of waiter to order drinks. Starters were good, however both fillet steaks which were ordered medium were overcooked to a standard they were almost inedible! Dessert (sherry trifle) dry sponge with raspberry jam and 4 pieces of tinned fruit and drissle of custard!!! Actually laughable at how bad it was!!!service was awful. Gone to the dogs from what I experienced

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank XxEmma-LouXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The best scampi I have had in Ireland. Done in a tempura style batter, the prawns were plump, juicy and flavorsome. The accompanying chips were done perfectly.

The Monasterboice Inn is one of those few places I have taken a long detour to reach and it has never disappointed. This evening, I rang about twenty minutes and twenty miles before the kitchen closed and they were happy to accommodate me.

Roll on the next excuse to call again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DonalDeGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monasterboice Inn also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Monasterboice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing