We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambience”

Salthouse Brasserie
Ranked #16 of 112 Restaurants in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Really cosy intimate atmosphere with very friendly helpful staff. The menu has a good selection of starters and mains with some very unusual items such as crocodile and kangaroo along side more tradition steaks and fish. We enjoyed a shared plate of meats and bread and there was ample for two people. For mains we stuck to the ribeye and monkfish and shared a truly delectable cheesecake. The food was well cooked and beautifully presented. We also enjoyed complementary lemon sorbets and toffee schnapps. Entertainment was provided by a singer who preformed rat pack music and was very good. Check out opening hour as I think they open only at end of week in evenings in winter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    53
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and a decent looking B&B”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a dinner at the place and were absolutely delighted with the food and the service! Their menu was to die for with things like cangaroo and crocodile, and a no-flour-baked-chocolate-cake amongst other things. Everything was homemade, none of the ugly packets of mayo or brown sauce. A tangy sorbet between courses was a lovely touch. There also was live music of a beautiful standard on the night. Price was very reasonable and the front ot the house took care of every(!) client, a very hospitable lady - kudoz! If you are ever in Drogheda, go there for a meal, it will be lovely! We inquired about their rooms and were shown a basic but very clean place with a nice ensuite toilet and shower. They also offered a breakfast for a sensible 7 euro per person and judging by the quality of their dinner it was going to be a delight!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
307 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had lunch here the waitress was friendly I had pasta lunch special,it was excellent. i would reccommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank janiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy and friendly”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The menu was a little different but delicious. The owner and servers were so friendly and accomadating. Although the space is small, they accomodated our party of 10 very easily.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SSkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second visit and still great little restaurant!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Second visit to the Salthouse on Saturday with my parents! Food was fabulous, all plates emptied, great atmosphere and very good value! Asked for a starter to share with my boyfriend and they brought it out on two separate plates - lovely touch! Will definitely be back again. The music was amazing with a young girl performing for her first time, she was astounding. The music was a little loud to start but they adjusted it immediately! Great little restaurant, worth a try!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneMarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salthouse Brasserie also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Salthouse Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing