We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windsor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

we were welcomed by a very friendly lady olive. From reading previous reviews I had gathered she was lovely and she really was. Easy to see why they are doing so well with their business. There are 3 houses on this property with 27 rooms in total( as far as i know) All 3 were full at the time of our stay but it never felt crowded. We stayed in the second house which was pleasant but not as nice as the 1st house. It didn't bother us too much. However, it seemed all other rooms in our house had a large flat screen tv, unfourtunatley for us we only had a small silver portable. Which was fine but we did stay in the 1st night and watched tv and would have been nice to have a big tv like the other rooms. It's only a small thing but a flat screen tv makes the room look more modern and expensive.
Breakfast was lovely. Well organised set up, Never had to wait for table etc. Good quality food and service with a smile. Again olive is about( don't know if she ever sleeps)
There is a very handy garage next door with a deli that served a selection of hot food. You could also pay the m50 toll here. It is also very close to the town & to slane castle, if you are looking to go to concerts. I would stay here again, it was quiet, clean, reasonable and beds are extremely comfortable.
Well done :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K2DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    53
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
71
77
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed there one night, there were four adults in our party and we received two rooms. Rooms were nice, clean with digital tv (not an important factor for us though). We checked in late afternoon, the female owner was very nice and gave us a great recommendation for an evening pub dinner. When we came back and parked out front, the male owner/husband a bit gruffly asked us who we were and when we responded we had checked in, he wanted to know which rooms (made us feel quite un-welcome). NOT the type of B&B friendliness we look for in Ireland. Breakfast was good.. for my wife an myself, my older sons sat by themselves at another table and were never asked for their order. Overall a nice place, but very large and not worth the extra pounds we paid for the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorLodge, Owner at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
This review is a bit puzzling, as the customer liked Windsor Lodge, complimented the rooms and had nice things to say about the breakfast -- despite the generally negative tone of his headline. He complained about his sons not being asked for their breakfast order. That would be quite impossible, as they clearly had their breakfast -- what was that about? The problems appears to be that (a.) he took offense at being asked if he had checked in, and (b.) he seems to think he paid too much for his accommodations -- after he had agreed the price for the room and found everything about the property to his liking. A review that leaves us, indeed, very puzzled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, new Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We are a group of 3 and we had a single room each. The place is very clean and tidy and the bathrooms are good with a surprisingly good shower. The breakfast was good. Our complaint was the owner...he wasn't the sort of person I felt should be in this role. He wasn't helpful, he wasn't particularly nice either but to be fair the lady of the house did offer his services for advice on Northern Ireland but we preferred to find it out ourselves.

Room Tip: The rooms all seemed fairly similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coraleen026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorLodge, Owner at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
This is a lovely review of Windsor Lodge -- and a nasty personal attack on the owner. These three ladies arrived from New Zealand and each came in with a large amount of luggage. Rooms were assigned upstairs and one of them -- the author of this review -- stood looking at me with her luggage gathered at the bottom of the stairs. I apologized to her -- with my leg clearly bandaged up -- and explained that I had just had my knee replaced and would be unable to help her take her luggage upstairs. She huffed off and got one of her traveling companions to help her. The two of them managed nicely. Despite our offers to help with a local map and directions, she remained thoroughly unpleasant for the balance of her stay. Perhaps she will learn some manners when she returns home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

As nice a place as you want on your first night of a twenty day tour of Ireland. The lodge was a pleasant place and staff was extremely friendly. The accommodations and full breakfast were fabulous. I met an American who was one of the owners who had graduated from the Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD. who assisted me with a dead battery in my rental car. (only complaint was the weak shower water pressure bathroom setup) I would stay again for the kindness and breakfast quality....thanks so much.....kevin and seanagh...

Room Tip: great food and bed......a perfect combo
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorLodge, Owner at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Battery boosts, restaurant advice, local attractions -- all in a day's work. The shower pump's been replaced, so your next visit might be met with a deluge. Handy to have Navy man around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, friendly, nice breakfast, laid-back, good parking; what more do you want for a short stay? Very handy for anyone visiting someone in the nearby hospital, as I was. There isn't anywhere very near to get lunch or dinner, unless you count a sandwich or a pot noodle from the garage next door. So you'll need a car or a long walk. But I would choose Windsor Lodge again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family stayed one night and we needed 2 rooms. We were given the rooms that were available, but in the family room the t.v. wasn't working properly and the person at the desk couldn't help us to get it working, didn't even try. In addition, the only way to cool the room was to open another unused room on the floor and open windows to get air flow. The room's windows didn't open enough to get proper air flow anyway.
No soap or shampoo in the bathroom for our use.

When these deficiencies were mentioned, there wasn't even a thought of how to deal with it. No slight reduction in rate, no vouchers for later, nothing.

Wouldn't go to this place again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patel1Mississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Windsor Lodge provided lovely, comfortable rooms for our extended family of 8 including 5 teenagers - and graciously accommodated my sister's special dietary needs - house was beautiful, breakfast was excellent, and location was great - quick drive to Dublin airport in the morning - lovely people - a definite keeper on our list of B&B's to revisit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorLodge, Manager at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Tracy and family were terrific. We enjoyed having them -- and they clearly enjoyed the visit to the Boyne Valley area. We look forward to welcoming them again.

PS -- Thanks for the lovely personal note that you posted on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
15.8 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
15.7 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
15.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
9.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
15.3 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Lodge

Property: Windsor Lodge
Address: 1, The Court | North Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Drogheda's premiere Bed and Breakfast facility, fully certified by Bord Fáilte and the only B&B facility in the area listed in both the prestigious Michelin and Routard's travel guides. Our lovely home is located on the North Road in Drogheda, just off the M1 Motorway at the "Drogheda North" exit #10 and only 30 minutes north of Dublin airport. Proprietor Olive Murphy takes special pride in ensuring that every guest is welcomed and made to feel very much at home. Over the years, Windsor Lodge has built up a very loyal base of repeat guests, all of whom remark on the consistent quality, comfort and attention to detail provided by Olive and her guest services team. We welcome new guests and friends as well; we cordially invite your phone call or e-mail and your reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Windsor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing