We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Windsor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Windsor Lodge in Sept 2012. It was our first time to Ireland and I was looking for a place to crash after our long flight into Dublin. For this purpose, the Windsor lodge was great! It was cute and comfortable. There is parking onsite and the traditional Irish breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. Downtown Drogheda was a 10-15 minute walk from the B&B. There is a petrol station next door so we could fill up and stock up on water and treats. My only complaint about this lodge was the water pressure was a little weak, but at least it was warm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bisque3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    54
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
74
81
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had a really enjoyable experience here and will definitely be going back!! Food was delicious, staff were very friendly and helpful. The service was very efficient and the accommodation in general was great...very clean etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorLodge, Owner at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks to Mags for this lovely review. We enjoy our guests and are genuinely pleased to do all that we can to look after them. We especially appreciate the time and thoughtfulness that you've taken to provide this review. It helps others to share your first-hand experience, and we have many guests who mention how much they appreciate the reviews that guests provide. Well done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

By far, one of the nicest B&Bs in which I have stayed...if for no other reason, the bed and linens...I have missed fabric softener and comfortable sheeting since I have arrived...hopping from one hotel to the next as we worked our way around the country...it does, indeed, feel like a home...would never think of staying anywhere else...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtdarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorLodge, Owner at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are delighted that our guests were comfortable and felt very much at home. That's our objective and we thank you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. We hope you had a safe trip home and want you to know that you're always welcome here at Windsor Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Windsor Lodge is such a fantastic B&B. It caters for everyone, business people, romantic break, and even accommodates groups.It is spotless, comfortable and the rooms have everything you could ever need. The folks at the Windsor Lodge are so helpful and friendly nothing is ever too much trouble. The food, facilities and craic is top class. It is also a very central location to those travelling to Belfast or Dublin as it is very near the motorway for both. I would highly recommend this B&B to everyone. As a nurse working in the nearby hospital who has to travel some considerable distance to work, it is my home from home. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snools400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorLodge, Manager at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Amazing guests deserve amazing accommodations -- and we thank you for taking the time for sending this review along. Lourdes Hospital staff are regular and important guests and we always look forward to making them as comfortable as possible. Please know how much you are valued and appreciated. Windsor :Lodge is committed to looking after each and every one of you and making you feel at home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I wanted to stay not just visit!!!!!!!! The service was outstanding, the rooms were fantastic and the food was fabulous. This isn't just a B and B it is a beautiful house in which you will be welcomed into with open arms and a smile. Your stay will be memorable and peaceful. If you want to meet lovely people and get fantastic value for money don't hesitate in choosing the Windsor lodge!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen And Mar... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorLodge, Owner at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We were delighted to have this lovely young couple stay with us for the weekend. They were fun and romantic and we enjoyed having them with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a delightful review. We're glad you felt comfortable and very much at home. That's always our objective and a key reason behind our business. A special thank you for sending the flowers along after your stay with us. We were delighted to receive them and gave them a special place in our sitting room to remind us of the lovely guests who had been with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent one night here whilst visiting Drogheda for a family party. Room was a decent size, not massive but big enough and it had a comfortable bed. Spacious bathroom. Located close to the town, less than 5 mins in cab, prob about 15 min walk. The owners were friendly and welcoming. For anyone who is interested, it is also gay friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colindkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorLodge, Owner at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks very much for this fine review. We're very pleased that you found Windsor Lodge comfortable and welcoming -- that's always our objective. Your comments help others to look closer at our facilities and service and understand if this the sort of place they'd like to visit. Thank you for taking the time to do so -- and please know that you'd be very welcome when you come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We called in almost at midnight, without reservation!!! We got the room and brilliant attitude at 12.00pm, can’t thank them enough. Breakfast is always good, stayed there before and will stay again soon. I am recommending this B&B to anyone who expects nice and friendly attitude.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaspars P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
15.7 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,196 reviews
15.9 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
15.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,471 reviews
9.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
15.3 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Lodge

Property: Windsor Lodge
Address: 1, The Court | North Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Drogheda's premiere Bed and Breakfast facility, fully certified by Bord Fáilte and the only B&B facility in the area listed in both the prestigious Michelin and Routard's travel guides. Our lovely home is located on the North Road in Drogheda, just off the M1 Motorway at the "Drogheda North" exit #10 and only 30 minutes north of Dublin airport. Proprietor Olive Murphy takes special pride in ensuring that every guest is welcomed and made to feel very much at home. Over the years, Windsor Lodge has built up a very loyal base of repeat guests, all of whom remark on the consistent quality, comfort and attention to detail provided by Olive and her guest services team. We welcome new guests and friends as well; we cordially invite your phone call or e-mail and your reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windsor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing