We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Drogheda”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windsor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Drogheda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Windsor Lodge in Drogheda Ireland is an ideal base for exploring Ireland's history from its Neolithic period through the religious/political/battles of the 18th century to the fight for Indpendence in the 20th century. Olive Murphy and her daughter Una and John Shanahan make you feel at home immediately with their warm welcome. They are happy to share their knowledge of the area and will steer you to all the sites and best restaurants. The rooms are comfy and the breakfast will fuel you for a full day of exploration.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. With that said our room faced the front and the double glazed windows f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hhoart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    53
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
71
77
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this cultured B&B when we visited Ireland this year. The reception was warm and inviting and the room was like a well equipped bedroom in my grandma's house. I feel in love with the owners and their helpfulness and pleasant demeanor. I felt like I could have stayed there forever. The breakfast was like nothing I've ever experienced at a luxury hotel or B&B and I have traveled all over Europe.

I highly recommend this to anyone visiting Ireland and Newgrange area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArmyVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We were just delighted to have this lovely couple stay with us recently -- and thank you very much for this very helpful review. Both are U.S. Army service members stationed in Germany and came to Ireland on a holiday. They were eager to learn about the history and heritage of this beautiful country and genuinely appreciated our guidance on things to see and do. So thanks for choosing to stay with us and thanks again for this lovely review. You'd be most welcome to return -- and continue to be just like part of the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just back to Scotland after spending a few days in Drogheda staying at the Windsor Lodge, From the minute you walk in the front door until the minute you leave you are made to feel part of the family. Very welcoming guest house, great breakfast and the rooms are superb. I could not fault this place in any way. Will definately be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Windsor Lodge are comfortable and well decorated and nice and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stitchedupInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed a night at this B&B on the last leg of our holiday and found it a welcoming and comfortable place. Breakfast was great and it was a most enjoyable experience. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank O Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I recently completed my 3rd visit to Windsor Lodge which is a family owned and run B&B. The rooms were nicely appointed, clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfasts generous with a variety of choices. The free secure Wi-Fi provision was a great boon, but the TV cable service was quite limited. We benefited from a comfortable living room where one can sit by the fireside and read, listen to music or watch TV. The family was warm, friendly and accomodating and in the experience of myself, and my cousin who also enjoyed an extended stay there, they willingly went beyond the call of duty in their efforts to assist us. I could not recommend this B&B more highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We could not have had a better B&B experience. Olive and John are lovely people and made us feel incredibly welcome as if they were just inviting us into their home. John's knowledge of Irish history is breathtaking. The area around Drogheda is dotted with ancient history not to be missed. Without John's input, we might have missed the spots that turned out to be the highlight of our trip.

The bed was much better than my own at home, the breakfasts ample and varied and, best of all, the coffee was really good. Windsor Lodge exceeded our expectations in every way!

Room Tip: If you have any special requirements, just talk with Olive. She is charming and gracious and will d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We came across this charming B&B by chance, and couldn't have been luckier. The rooms were clean, quiet, and adorable, and the owners could not have been nicer. Olive and John made us feel just like family. We left welcome and safe the whole time.
The location is fabulous. The heart of town is just down the road, and New Grange is just a wee bit farther. John and olive both are very knowledgable about the town and surrounding areas. We wish we'd had more time to see all the places they recommended.
We will definitely be coming back to this charming spot!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesbryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
15.9 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
15.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
15.7 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
5.2 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
9.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Lodge

Property: Windsor Lodge
Address: 1, The Court | North Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Drogheda's premiere Bed and Breakfast facility, fully certified by Bord Fáilte and the only B&B facility in the area listed in both the prestigious Michelin and Routard's travel guides. Our lovely home is located on the North Road in Drogheda, just off the M1 Motorway at the "Drogheda North" exit #10 and only 30 minutes north of Dublin airport. Proprietor Olive Murphy takes special pride in ensuring that every guest is welcomed and made to feel very much at home. Over the years, Windsor Lodge has built up a very loyal base of repeat guests, all of whom remark on the consistent quality, comfort and attention to detail provided by Olive and her guest services team. We welcome new guests and friends as well; we cordially invite your phone call or e-mail and your reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing