We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice friendly place to stay”
Review of Windsor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place to stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in the chalet,as we had our young son with us and we didn't want to be disturbing the other guests. This was great as we had our own access and we seperate from the house. I would recommend a family to stay here. The breakfast had great variety,with fruit,cereals,pastries and a cooked breakfast all on offer.

Only minor set back was the 5% card charge that is added to your bill,which wasn't pointed out to me,stated on booking.com nor mentioned when I went to pay,only that I seen it on the card machine when I went to enter my pin. This could be expensive for a group or people stayin a few nights that may have a higher bill. The chalet maybe could do with a little more ventilation also as it is a little musty smelling. However in sayin this,i did enjoy my stay and the food was nice and room ideal for a family.

Room Tip: The Chalet (and there is another outside place to stay) is perfect for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoralEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorLodge, Owner at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
We're grateful for this review and thank our guest family for taking the time to share it. Our chalet in the rear of our property is a new addition and we're especially glad that our guests found it comfortable. We did find -- and have corrected -- a ventilation fault in this new addition. As regards fees on credit card charges, we were puzzled that our guest did not notice one or the other of two signs posted at the front desk advising of this charge. We wish it weren't necessary either, but have found bank charges taking a growing portion of our receipts. We've elected to keep room rates down and only pass on what the bank charges us. Overall, a terrific review -- thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    53
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
71
78
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We booked the Windsor Lodge based on the excellent reviews in tripadvisor and we were not dissapointed at all: the place is spotless, and the room spacious with an excellent shower. The owner offered us advice on what to see and where to stop on our way to Northern Ireland. He also made an excellent recommendation for diner (Henri's). Bottom Line, we had an excellent stay, close to the main attractions we wanted to visit. We would recommend it to anyone passing through Drogheda.

Very private. Has the feel of a family-run small inn. Owner prefers cash; 5% extra charge for credit transactions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_robert0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was lovely, the location is great and they couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We arrived here thanks to lonely planet and indeed the suggestion was great. The family welcomed us very warmly in a very beautiful house. The furniture and the style is great, as you always expect bbs to be (even tho they have more rooms that usually bbs have). The location is strategic, near to a lot of very beautiful sightseeing (don't forget to visit the hills of Slane and Monasterboice).
Just a little suggestion: do require explanation on how to use the shower!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahoteroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The folks at Windsor Lodge went all out for us, and we (family of three) only stayed one night. Owners Olive and Una run a hospitable ship with excellent rooms and a fabulous breakfast. Olive even knew all about us when we arrived. And John (Olive's squeeze) was most helpful with airline reservations, boarding passes, socializing, and his favorite pub/restaurant. It probably helped that John and I both retired from the same US government agency, and in the same year, but we suspect he is great with all visitors. Highly recommended. We will return when we can get back to Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathynPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is a great place to stay. Everthing was top notch and after eating in the recommended place (Harrys Bar & Grill - go there if you can) we retuned to a very nice Irish whiskey courtesy of John. Can't praise John and Olive enough. On the morning of departure I was due to attend a pre arranged event but they were prepared to allow my wife to stay as she was feeling unwell. Now that is top class customer service. We do hope to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We were warmly greeted and given excellent advice for late afternoon drive to accommodate to area. Room was small but clean and more than adequate. John helped us pay an on-line toll in the morning and most helpful in our day's activities. Breakfast in a nice room was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfnut2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
15.9 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
15.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
15.7 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
5.2 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
9.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Lodge

Property: Windsor Lodge
Address: 1, The Court | North Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Drogheda's premiere Bed and Breakfast facility, fully certified by Bord Fáilte and the only B&B facility in the area listed in both the prestigious Michelin and Routard's travel guides. Our lovely home is located on the North Road in Drogheda, just off the M1 Motorway at the "Drogheda North" exit #10 and only 30 minutes north of Dublin airport. Proprietor Olive Murphy takes special pride in ensuring that every guest is welcomed and made to feel very much at home. Over the years, Windsor Lodge has built up a very loyal base of repeat guests, all of whom remark on the consistent quality, comfort and attention to detail provided by Olive and her guest services team. We welcome new guests and friends as well; we cordially invite your phone call or e-mail and your reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Windsor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing