We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple good food, done well!!!!”
Review of Dalys Inn

Dalys Inn
Ranked #61 of 110 Restaurants in Drogheda
Cuisines: Bar, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Drogheda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple good food, done well!!!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Visited Daly's (which is actually in Donore, close to Newgrange) with my wife and 2 children for some Sunday lunch....Lunch service had finished but we decided to try the pub grub that was available.

To put it simply this is what good pub grub should be like, good food at a good price and the portions are more than ample. Service was straightforward, no fuss; the staff just got on with the job.

Would I recommend; yes! Will we go back; certainly.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    10
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice food, nice place”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Good local restaurant, had a nice fish and chips and a pint - the place has 2 rooms, one is a typical pub, the other is a finer restaurant. I was alone and had the meal at the pub side, it was just fine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Freezing room - Disappointed”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent a weekend there, 2 nights, it is a great place in many respect. The punters are friendly and contribute to a good atmosphere in the pub, however the room was absolutely freezing and after two nights I left with a bad cold, a sore back (bad mattress), a lack of sleep and annoyed. Good place for food, the portions are good for the price, but the savings they made on heating in winter and the cold i am carrying now mean that I will not return to that place again.
As a recommendation to someone considering staying there :
- If during winter (avoid)
- Or, clarify heating issues with management before booking
- Or, bring in your own electric heater with you
- If you like to make coffee / tea, bring your own kettle (the one in the room was disgusting)
- In the summer, I would have less issue
- However keep in mind there is a disco during the weekend and it is a noisy pub if you happen to be given a room just above the pub.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayoub-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fairly priced menu,generous portions ,tasty food and kids content and clean ...but a bit mean charging e2 for a jug of mi-wadi when one is forking out e75 for family of 7.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikeat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food and nice place to stop for lunch”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good service and a nice menu, the staff were very helpful. It is located outside Drogheda and very close to Newgrange. We went there for lunch on the way to a wedding in nearby Slane and would definitely recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daragh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalys Inn also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Dalys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing