We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, First Class Hospitality”
Review of Killowen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Killowen House
Ranked #4 of 12 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Location, First Class Hospitality”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This B&B is located about a 30 minute drive from Dublin Airport, in a small, quiet residential neighborhood just off the road into the Drogheda city center. The location is very good for seeing the sites in County Meath, including Newgrange and Knowth, Trim Castle, Kells, Battle of the Boyne Visitor Center, and the town of Drogheda itself (our first night we enjoyed a long walk along the Boyne River, starting from downtown Drogheda). It is even a reasonable commute to Belfast and other sites in N. Ireland. Angela was very quick to respond to my e-mail inquiry about the booking, and she was equally helpful when we arrived. An earlier reviewer called her a "fountain of information" and I concur with that description. She made us feel like welcome guests every time we walked in the door during our stay. The decor in the sleeping rooms was a bit spartan and somewhat worn, but clean and otherwise comfortable. There was free WiFi in the rooms with a good connection. Breakfast was a delight and served with a smile. I would stay here again and I recommend this B&B to you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DivineMissMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was the last stay in a two week road trip of Ireland. Hosts were extermely hospitable and very familar with the major and minor sights to see. Room was excellent and the breakfast was perfect. Not sure of the price of the room as this was part of a tour package, but it was as nice or nicer than some of the well known (expensive) hotels we stayed in. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksvlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were soooo pleased to come across this B & B. We had tried to find the BB s on our GPS, but none of them were open for the season, yet. Then, my husband spotted the little shamrock sign on the road and we turned into that residential area. We were so pleased that they were at home (it was about 8 pm now!) and that they had an available room for us. It was very clean and Angela was very hospitable and accommodating. She was a fountain of information on the area and we were so happy that she reccommended some of the historical sites to visit. We would have missed the Newgrange , which would have been a shame because it is so interesting and well worth the visit. Go early if you visit this site because it sells out early (by 11 am). The breakfast she prepared for us was delicious and very filling!! We liked the idea that it was a little on the outskirts of town (only about 1 mile) because it was quiet and peaceful. We would definitely refer this BB.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

A lovely place to stay.
It's a little out of town, a bit of a disadvantage when you might have liked a second Guinness with your meal at the Black Bull.
Otherwise, this is top drawer accommodation.
We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Had the best reception area of all B&B's we stayed in Ireland....very well appointed and finely decorated. We didn't meet the Mrs of the household, but Eric was a very nice, friendly and talkative.....we thoroughly enjoyed his company. We had room the room that was off the front of the house to the right as you walk in. The room was VERY clean and well kept. Had very nice lighting, and well decorated. The only downside to the stay was the mattress was a bit on the stiff side. It was the nicest appointed room we had the entire trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Middlemancrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Thank you Angela for making our stay so lovely. Killowen house really is an excellent base to visit the Boyne river valley and all the sights. Our room was very clean and comfortable, just what we needed. The full Irish breakfast was excellent. This was the first B&B our trip to Ireland and one of the best we stayed at. Again, thank you Angela.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We spent one night during our two week vacation to Ireland at Killowen House in Drogheda. It was the best room of our entire trip. The room was beautifully decorated and very spacious. Everything was immaculate! Angela was a super host--extremely friendly and helpful. The whole experience was absolutely magnificent. My husband and I both kept remarking how fantastic this B & B was. Without question I give this place the highest recommendation!
And its only 20 min. from the Dublin airport which made it so easy to catch our flight home the next day!!

Room Tip: Room at the front of house without exterior balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drogheda hotels
0.9 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.0 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
336 reviews
0.7 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spoon and the Stars
Spoon and the Stars
#2 of 12 in Drogheda
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killowen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killowen House

Property: Killowen House
Address: 7 Dublin Road | Woodgrange, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killowen House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killowen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing