We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, great buzz”
Review of Eastern Seaboard

Eastern Seaboard
Ranked #12 of 110 Restaurants in Drogheda
Price range: $5 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
drogheda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great buzz”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Was there on a mpnday night recently and there was a great buzz in the place. Got me thinking that restaurants in dublin probably are nowhere near as busy as this place is. They have to be doing something right.

The downside is the service can suffer, the staff are mostly young, untrained people probably working on school holidays. You get the impression they probably dont give a damn about you. But still, the atmosphere is great, lovely wine, whiskey and craft beer list, cozy bar and most importantly good good.

Would recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pater40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    199
    119
    77
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I found the waitress who served us from the beginning to be really friendly, attentive and efficient. The food was delicious, and the menu is very creative and original. As vegetarians we had the Moroccan style Chickpea hot pot, with herbed bulgar wheat and we really were not disappointed, it was delicious! The hand cut fries are great! Good coffee! We did have one of the high tables along the side which I would recommend. I felt it wasn't as loud on this side,and more space between tables.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shanogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This restaurant has an very wide choice on the menu and fish and vegetarian food is also plentyfull among the choices. We all four of us had very tasty food served to us by friendly and efficient staff, . The accustics in the room is not easy to cope with, you struggle to hear your fellow diners which is a shame as it is a very good eating place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myopinion70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service really lets this restaurant down”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This used to be a great restaurant when it opened, however it has slipped badly, particularly the service.
On previous visits we did not like the service and on my most recent previous visit here we complained to the manager about both the food and service. The visit this week was no different.

SERVICE
We entered at 4pm on a Friday evening without a booking and the restaurant about 2/3 empty. The hostess was unfriendly as she worriedly looked through the booking list before pointing to a table we could have until 6pm, which wasn't a problem with us. Without verbalizing it, her tone came across as "you've entered without a booking and just expect to get a table?"
Although there were 5 of us, from behind the bar she pointed across towards a table for 4 and told us to go and seat ourselves. I had to go around the restaurant and find an extra chair to seat the 5 of us.
It wasn't a welcoming start.

During the meal, nobody approached us to ask us if the meal was OK and if we needed anything else like Parmesan for the pasta. When we did manage to interrupt one of the waitresses to ask for ketchup, she gave it to us by speed walking up to the table, dropping it on the edge of the table and existing as fast as should could, barely even looking at us. (the restaurant was still mostly empty and there seemed to be enough staff, so she can't say she was too busy to be courteous). Her disinterested, unfriendly treatment was consistent with the hostess and it's like us customers were getting in the way of them doing whatever else it was they both wished they were doing. There was nothing friendly, welcoming or any degree of hospitality in how they approached us.

FOOD
I very much applaud their attempt to make their menu look different, but I nonetheless find it cumbersome to navigate.I paid the extra €1 to get cheese on my burger but it was such a tiny amount of cheese it was barely worth their while putting it on. I've had tastier burgers at Gourmet Burger Kitchen and even BK. On previous visits I've had the ribs, where were decent and I've had other dishes here in the past which were good (but not all).

In summary, the atmosphere is nice, the food is OK, but the service has been consistently terrible across several visits.
Due to the poor service we're not going back until we start hearing reports that the service has improved and the arrogant, disinterested attitude has gone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank likes2travel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great experience food superb”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Lovely evening meal great atmosphere buzzing on a Thursday evening. The semi industrial look with high ceilings and a sense of space was pleasant. Place nicely busy and the staff excellent attentive and friendly but also discrete. Food really first class the Chicken wings crispy and sauce sticky sweet - delicious. Calamari dry crunchy coated tender. Veggie mains went down well Spaghetti and Mushrooms and Belly Pory superb. No deserts just not enough space

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Markie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Seaboard also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Eastern Seaboard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing