We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it was” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastern Seaboard

Eastern Seaboard
Ranked #12 of 108 Restaurants in Drogheda
Price range: $5 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Felt rushed, one course straight after the next, not much time in between,was seated on bar type high stools at a high table to eat, that's not on! If it were bar food prices I wouldn't mind but its not,had the prawns, not sure how fresh they were, food was ok but not the top notch eating experience it used to be, change of chef maybe , every other member of staff has changed,the place seems grubby round the edges. Especially the beer garden, the spark has gone, better places in Drogheda to eat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    194
    117
    75
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had a very enjoyable experience in this restaurant. It is very contemporary, like being in New York not Ireland (maybe this is just the new Ireland!). I had corn chowder with seafood. My wife had salmon in sesame seeds and these were both very delicious choices. The wine was excellent and the atmosphere very good, with very smart people and good-looking staff. Thank you Aisling Law at Rossnaree House for recommending me to this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Went here on Friday evening, 2 adults and 2 kids! Greeted by a very pleasant waitress who served us for the night, staff were all very nice with a smile a every interaction! Menu options and extensive with a great choice for kids also, proper adult fare in small potions, rather than your usual processed kids options which is great and they also got a complementary plate of crudités which is a lovely touch.
Us adults started with a pail of calamari with lime mayo to start and my only compliant for the entire meal lay with this and at that only a tiny matter - they just tasted of the flour they had been dipped in before fried. A little spice or seasoning would have added so much more. The mains (pork belly & seafood linguini) were absolutely DELISH! We'd travel all the way back to Drogheda just for those dishes!
Desserts were lovely, ice-cream cones for the kids and a creme brûlée for the adults.
Prices are reasonable and it's a menu that suits all budgets, with various options and size of meals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, a little rushed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Really enjoyed eating here, but did feel a little rushed. We ordered some olives to share to start and we received our mains almost immediately afterwards.

The service wasn't bad, but wasn't particularly personal. Nothing to complain about, just not as friendly as everyone else we met during our holiday.

The food was excellent - I had a rib-eye, which was actually slightly over in cooking to what I ordered, but was really tasty nonetheless. My wife had a special, lobster parpadelle, which was excellent.

We thought it a touch on the expensive side for the experience, but would consider returning if we were back in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must visit restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The food and service in this excellent restaurant was consistently good on each of my visits. Some say the menu hasn't changed very much over time but i say if it's not broke don't fix it. If you like sea food the menu has a variety of fresh seafood dishes which are always excellent and the vegetables are always fresh. The dessert menu is a delight for anyone who wants to indulge. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sdebhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Seaboard also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Eastern Seaboard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing