We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freddy's Bistro to the Rescue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freddy's Bistro

Freddy's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 295 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, European, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Freddy's Bistro is in the Bridgestone Top 100 Restaurants, in Ireland. All our foods are sourced locally and cooked fresh. We cater for any special diet, including wheat free sauces and desserts.
Adare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freddy's Bistro to the Rescue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Forgot to Book the Restaurant 'Mea Culpa' phoned Freddy's Bistro in the heart of Limerick City. Fully Booked for the Saturday night - That's a good sign! I asked if any cancellations were to come up would they please call me. Saturday evening 6pm phone rings Liz to the rescue table for two 8.30pm - back in business bacon saved! Beautiful meal Crab & Fish cakes to start delicious Medallions of Fillet beef and the best slow cooked Pork Belly I have tasted for our main course - Well done Chef. Lovely atmosphere and we were so so well looked after looking forward to dining again @ Freddy's Bistro, Limerick..........Thanks Des & Ruth

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    168
    58
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Returned to freddies again last night, as usual food and service fantastic, looking forward to a few more nights there over the christmas season, the seasonal menu is brillant value and has great choice. Only problem is it is very difficult to get a booking so plans need to be made well in advance but its well worth it!
Also we brought home the lamb shank bone to the dog who loved it................ thank you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bernadette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place in Limerick!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

After reading the reviews here I was eager to check this place out. The results were as descibed by most of the reviews!
The restaurant had a large reservation for the evening but our eventual server told us if we could manage eating in 1.5 hours she would squeeze us in. Lucky us since the two women in front of us couldn't make a decision so we were seated directly.
Shared the Tandori Wings and Garlic Mushroom appetizers. Both were seasoned well and tasty.
Mains were the Clonakilty Chicken and the Banana Leaf Wrapped Sea Bass. My chicken was vary moist and I've taken a liking to the Irish breakfast pudding, even stuffed into chicken!
Service was really fantastic, one of the owners, Liz, came by and made sure we were satisfied with our meal. Desert was the Apple/Blackberry Crumble, great finish and under 1 hour 15min, which OK for this Californian!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mad58285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cant wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I recently ate here with a group of 20 from work. All I can say is from start to finish the food atmosphere was second to none! The chefs must be exceptional as everyone of us got beautiful hot delicious food beautifully presented. The Fillet steak was just divine. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Limerick. The atmosphere is fab! The stone walls have character. Ill be returning very soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lucmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food and atmosphere, and we felt very welcome for our family get together. Nothing was too much trouble. It's great for Limerick to have a restaurant as good as this.

Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddy's Bistro also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Freddy's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing