We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality Indian at decent prices.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppadom Restaurant

Poppadom Restaurant
Ranked #89 of 295 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Matsudo, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good quality Indian at decent prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had eaten in/from the Poppadom many times over the past ten years or so, and the I have rarely been disappointed. The food is of a good standard, the restaurant in relatively attractive and delivery is always on time (although there is a charge). I would say that maybe the standard has dropped a little over the last few years, and there is now a lot more competition in Limerick than there once was. The menu is a little different to most of it's competitors, prices are average (€10-€12 for a main course with rice) and the staff will try to accommodate all tastes, where possible. Still one of the better Indians in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yum yum!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten in Poppadom on a number occasions and the food and service are always top class. I often get takeaway from here and am never disappointed The staff are polite and friendly - I always recommend it to friends

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very Poor Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We went there on a Sunday evening.The restaurant was very quiet with only two other tables.Firstly,my chair was badly stained which I thought was unacceptable.The menu was different to most other Indian restaurants which I think is a good thing.However ,the food when it came was very bland.Both main courses although different looked identical with a gloopy sauce on both mains.The service was good and the staff friendly but the food to us was a letdown and we will not be returning.We will stick to the traditional Indian restaurants that we know.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

lovely restaurant, very friendly efficient staff, great food, i really was impressed with the flavours and variety available, one of the best indian meals i've had

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TipperaryDeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Pleasant Suprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Ok, to be honest... Indian food would not be my fav food BUT my hubby booked through Living Social (and if I am honest I wasn't too impressed with him!) BUT I had to eat my words. The food was delicious, not too spicy, just pure tasty :-) The tandoori chicken starter was divine num num! Infact I even asked to take my leftovers home! Staff were lovely - all in all, impressed and we will definately be back! Seems Poppadom converted me to an Indian foodie, well done :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddynme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppadom Restaurant also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Poppadom Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing