We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent second visit”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2011

This was our second year visiting the Savoy. We returned as we had enjoyed it so much the first time a year ago. We stayed again for 2 nights in an executive room. We loved it. massive comfy bed, lovely powerful shower and balcony. We also had access to free snacks and non alcohol drinks in executive lounge. On TV we had Sky movies and sports along with all the UK channels like BBC and UTV as well as irish TV.
The savoy is our favourite hotel. It is centerally located and close to restaurants and shopping. Staff are very helpful and polite. Also from our room balcony we could see Thomond Park (home of Munster Rugby) in the distance. We arrived early and were allowed to book in at 12 even though officially they did not have to let us book in till 3pm. This was a major bonus to be able to unpack and shower straight away. Also they did NOT charge us for the privilage of booking in early as other hotels sometimes do. Not sure about parking as we took the bus and walked to hotel from bus station. 12 minute walk.
Definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tipperary1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

This hotel is not far away from "five star" rating - one of the best hotels where I have been to. My room was a standard double with a very-very good bed and big panoramic window. Minibar has automatic tracking, so you dont need to give the answer to "did you take something from minibar?". The hotel does not have its own parking, instead of this, it provides parking in the nearest shopping center - about 8 hours for free. Hotel located in the city center - 10 minutes walk to St. John Castle.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smkd1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night.
The room was overlooking the mist over the backyard. Limerick in the mist - it is something.
It was great - a delicious dinner, good wine, unobtrusive and great service in a restaurant.
Next shower, luxurious bathrobes, soft bed .. A delicious breakfast - I recommend the eggs Benedict.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinkomali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The Savoy is right in the centre of town - one block to the main shopping street, one block to the river and the great bars!
We stayed in a Junior suite - very large room with an ingenious TV panel that swivels round between the bed and sitting areas. Huge marble bathroom and a dressing area. It is worth upgrading to a Junior suite as you get free Continental breakfast and acces to the Executive Lounge. The breakfast was brilliant and a really large choice of fruits etc, but the best bit was that it is served till 12 noon at the weekends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfLC2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

In short this is the best hotel in Limerick. Business centre - excellent, great staff in every department. Super food.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

This is the best hotel in Limerick city. The bar and restaurants are top notch and the food is wonderful. We were upgraded on check in and our room ws huge, clean, comfortable and elegant. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for new years eve and the following evening. The hotel was lovely, big modern rooms, lovely bathrooms with separate bath and shower and lots of lovely minature Molton brown goodies. Comp still and sparking water, big fluffy robes and huge beds all make the whole experience the prefect way to start the new year.

We did have a bit of trouble with dirty water coming out of the hot bath tap, but they were very helpful and were willing to get a plumber over on new years eve, but given how long it was taking we told them not to bother and were pleasantly surprised to receive a complimentary bottle of prosecco as way of an apology.

We also had dinner on nye at the hotel restaurant, situated next door, the Hamptons and both my partner and I agreed it was the perfect meal to end the year with. The steak was AMAZING and we both had three courses and drinks for less than €100.

Although we used the stay to chill out so we didn't get to see much of the location but we were perfectly located for shopping in the day and a leisurely walk revealed how close we were to the river and lots of lovely restaurants and bars by the harbour.

I don't know if I'd go to Limerick again (it was quite expensive) but if I did, we would definitely stay at the savoy which was reasonably priced for 5* and had lots of lovely little touches to make it special.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabulous_apparently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#9 of 20 in Limerick
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $126 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing