We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Munster, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Truely Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

I loved every minute of our stay here, it's as close to perfect as you'll get, the staff are warm and friendly, the rooms are beautiful, breakfast is second to none and the Hamptons is fantastic.............LOVE IT!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie-Tipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    241
    100
    31
    19
See reviews for
167
446
31
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

Hotel lobby two rooms is dark and unappealing, not as attractive as I expected from other reviewer's comments. Arrived at eight PM so presence of on-site Hampton Restaurant was a real plus, trendy look, many diners, lots of energy, good food, €60 for two. There is a second dining room option, fine dining waited for which looked really grim. There was no hot water from the arrival to 12 PM departure. Still it's probably the best alternative in the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Stayed at The Savoy hotel for 2 nights midweek early November 2010. The decor in the hotel is luxurious and decadent. We had a beautiful room on the 8th floor which was extremely spacious and beautifully furnished. The hotel staff were extremely courteous and helpful. We used the hotels leisure facilities, 8m pool, jacuzzi and steam room. We also availed of some of the treatments on offer including Thai massage.
The hotel is located on one of the main streets in Limerick in a lovely central location.
We dined in the Hamptons grill next door to the hotel which is a classy bustling restaurant. The hotel have an affiliated parking scheme with a multistory car park across the street on Harveys Quay- day rate 7.50 euro.
I would definitley recommend this hotel and will stay here again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

I have to admit that i was somewhat sceptical of some of the reviews, but am just back and have to say, all they say is true-and more!

Seven women who are fussy could not find a single grumble. The breakfast is amazing, the maitre'd is Italian and makes you feel like a VIP! Eggs Benedict and the smoked salmon stacks get the thumbs up.

We ate both nights in the Hampton restaurant, part of the hotel-even though you go the main door and in next-door to reach it. A busy, buzzy place. We had a 4 course dinner for €25.I defy anyone to find as good a meal at such a price anywhere.


The city centre location has a multi-story car-park right across from the hotel. Parking is therefore secure and the hotel have a deal with the carpark, overnight parking costs just €7.50.

Look for a room on the higher floors and you will barely hear any traffic. Beds really comfy, Molton Brown soaps shampoo etc in the bathrooms and complimentary still and sparkling water in the rooms too.

We had the "Sex and the city" package so as well as 2 nights b and b, a dinner, a free cocktail,the package also had afternoon tea included.

I sincerly recommend this hotel to any one. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

My husband and I decided to book into the Savoy for a night in celebration of our wedding anniversary and are delighted that we did. Upon check-in we discovered that we had been upgraded to a suite which was absolutely beautiful. The staff were great, courteous and helpful and the hotel itself is very well maintained. We were impressed at the value for money we received, around 100 euro for a night and worth every cent. This is a 5 start hotel who are using their heads! We met friends for lunch the next day and ecided to eat inthe hotel restuarant where we found everything delicious. Needless to say we have recommended it to all our friends and definitely plan to be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Fantastic hidden gem in Limerick nothing too much trouble treated like royalty form start to finish. Would have to say best breakrast breakfast everSea Bass on the menu that morning cooked to perfection.
Beautiful luxurious bedding very generous mattress topper.
Will definetly be back hope they keep the graet prices!!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zannadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

On arrival we were impressed by the very spacious and luxurious decor of The Savoy and were doubly delighted to be able to check in on arrival at 11.00am! The room was spacious and very comfortable and couldn’t be faulted. However, I felt it was not quite 5 star but a very good 4 star none the less. The best thing about The Savoy was its location which was right in the heart of Limerick's city centre shopping and close to many restaurants and city attractions. There’s a very nice restaurant next door, The Hamptons and booking ahead seems to be necessary. Breakfast is exceptionally good and the Breakfast staff extremely helpful and professional. A very pleasant and enjoyable stay in this comfortable hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing