We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel and Staff”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I went for a weekend break to the 5* Savoy. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the city. The hotel is lovely, clean, nice rooms, Staff very overly helpful. Breakfast was delicious. The pool is more of a 'big bath'. Hamptons restaurant was devine.
I would not class the rooms 5* they were lovely and I have no problems with them, but having stayed in a few 5* before, there was just no extras to make it a 5*.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meluia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    249
    101
    32
    20
See reviews for
171
454
32
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Myself & the wife just spent the weekend in the Savoy in Limerick & had a lovely time altogether. The hotel room, location, food & service were all excellent. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Limerick. Couldn't really fault it. The only bad thing I could find to say about the place is that the swimming pool in the leisure centre is a bit on the small side.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2010

stayed here for ne night in Dec. hotel not 5 star standard. were given a room on the executive floor with access to exexutive lounge which in fairness was well stocked with snacks etc. however rooms were seriouly grubby. our carpet was dirty and walls had lots of marks on them. bed was comfotable staff very friendly.car parking across road from hotel location was excellent. have stayed in a lot nicer hotels which have 4 star rating than this supposed 5 star one, was very dissappointed. would not be returning

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Pros:
- Location is excellent, surrounded by great shops, bars & restaurants. Great Rugby pubs.
- Staff are very friendly & accomodating.
- Classic Thai Massage was wonderful.
- Their in-house restaurant "The Hamptons" is a very high quality place to dine, great food and service.

Cons:
- Car parking - you have to park in the Dunnes Stores Multistorey Car park across the road and pay €7.50 a day which was never mentioned. Very inconvenient.
- Leisure facilities are a disappointment and certainly not what you would expect in a 5 Star establishment. Tiny Pool (big bath), Sauna & Jacuzzi. The Leisure desk was unmanned & we had to call Reception to have the Sauna turned on. The Spa was also lacking, massage aside tiny rooms and no relaxation room in sight.
- I found that the bedrooms were only of 4 Star standard. Certain things cannot be helped but the noise level got pretty high at times.
- Breakfast - very disappointed to find that the standard Irish breakfast was €6 extra per person despite paying well for Bed & Breakfast in the first place. Upon ordering we had to wait 25mins after being served our tea & coffee for our fry to arrive, toast came 10mins later followed by fresh tea 5mins after that. Bacon was inedible, Cumberland Sausages were more like Denny Gold and despite the staff being friendly it was a very scatty affair.

Summary:
I don't feel it's a 5 Star hotel, location's great but would return on a room basis only - plenty of lovely Cafes nearby for breakfast. Would return but will look for a quieter room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGirl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

4.5 star really, I had a really nice room, with balcony, on the 7th floor, looking out on the main street in Limerick, but I could hear every car and in particular the street cleaning vehicles that visited at an ungodly hour of the morning. A 5* should have better sound insulation. I also thought that the breakfast was more 4* than 5. Ask for a quiet room when checking in and you will be fine – but in a 5* you should not have to.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cultural-Weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick city, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2010

The Savoy was a Marriott hotel when I stayed, but I think it's much the same people. Check in was enjoyable- I found the staff very friendly in general, which is a good sign. The room and bed were very nice and modern, but I found the full length windows acted to funnel some of the noise in from the traffic below. No problems with the internet. The gym and pool were adequate for a workout, but both were small, and I didn't see any employee except for one or two glimpses- not even at the desk. The traffic noise did seem to keep me up for a while, but that might have just been the hotel bed effect. I woke up refreshed, though, and breakfast was full service, and delicious. All in all a good place for 1-3 day stay. Any longer and I would need a bigger gym.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Just returned from a lovely overnight stay at the Savoy Hotel.

Couldn't find fault with the hotel at all. Room was spotless, staff were helpful and the location was perfect - right in the city centre. We were originally placed in a room next to the elevator but asked to be changed to a quiter room and the staff were very helpful in changing this for us.

The bed was really comfortable and was actually a king size bed and not two twins pushed together, unlike some other hotels I've stayed in. The complimentary still and sparkling water in the room was a nice touch.

We were in Limerick overnight for a rugby game at Thormond park, which is about 20 mins walk from the hotel. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food there. If you are looking for a great breakfast I'd highly recommend the Wild Onion on High street which is about 10 mins walk away from the hotel - best french toast ever and really friendly owners. Ring them about 30 mins before you plan to eat though as they are really busy especially on weekends.

We'll definitely be back if we are visiting Limerick again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing